Page 155 of 2323 FirstFirst ... 551051451531541551561571652052556551155 ... LastLast
Results 1,541 to 1,550 of 23230

Thread: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

  1. #1541
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    196

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Bruce -

    Made the edits as indicated by you. No need to apologize, my hat's off to you for your tenacity. Thanks a million.

    OK, here's where I am -

    In CLI :

    aonegodman@aonegodman-desktop:~$ killall conky
    aonegodman@aonegodman-desktop:~$ ./.startconky
    Conky: desktop window (e000b5) is subwindow of root window (c1)
    Conky: window type - override
    Conky: drawing to created window (4200002)
    Conky: drawing to double buffer

    conky is running in upper-right corner of desktop. The word " WEATHER:." appears at the far top right of conky.

    Now is the time to tell me how to take a screenshot of my desktop to attach.

    Also please tell me how to adjust conky to move down a little, out from under my top taskbar?

    Thanks again
    Our biggest problem is always the one we are experiencing at the moment.

  2. #1542
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    FOR aonegodman

    In your weather.sh file

    Code:
    # CURL url. Use cc=* for current forecast or dayf=10 to get a multi-day forecast
    CURLURL="http://xoap.weather.com/weather/local/$LO CID?dayf=10&unit=$UNITS&cc=*"
    There is a space to get rid of:

    This:
    Code:
    $LO CID
    to:
    Code:
    $LOCID

  3. #1543
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by aonegodman View Post
    Also please tell me how to adjust conky to move down a little, out from under my top taskbar?

    Thanks again
    I do it the easy way.

    See where TEXT is
    add a blank line or two under that befre the displayed text.

    No! Thank you for putting up with my mistakes.
    Looking forward to seeing it.
    Bruce

  4. #1544
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Torrington, Wyoming
    Beans
    372
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Yay another score for Bruce and helping others with the problems.
    すべてと、そして、すべてへのリナックスは自由を鳴らせました。
    Linux to all, and to all, let freedom ring.

  5. #1545
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    7,032
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce M. View Post
    I do it the easy way.

    See where TEXT is
    add a blank line or two under that befre the displayed text.

    No! Thank you for putting up with my mistakes.
    Looking forward to seeing it.
    Bruce
    The other easy way is to change the value of "gap_x" and "gap_y." Those will allow you to put conky's window wherever you want it on screen.
    I am aware of all internet traditions. | Getting the best help | Text formatting codes | My last.fm profile
    Should I PM support questions? NO!

  6. #1546
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    196

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    I must have already done that one Bruce.

    All files are still loaded into gedit and being edited as needed to complete mission.

    I would like thank all other contributors for their help also.

    I noticed in the scripts that conkymain sets my "gap_X" at 10 and "gap_y" at 10.

    Next I noticed that conkyweather sets "gap_x" at 10 and "gap_y" at 25.

    Could there be a conflict for desktop between these two?

    Is the weather displayed as part of conky or in a seperate window?

    Thanks.
    Our biggest problem is always the one we are experiencing at the moment.

  7. #1547
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Torrington, Wyoming
    Beans
    372
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Do they cover each other or are they one above another or is weather called up through the main conky file itself. if it is called up through the main file it will be in the main file and fill use its own formatting.
    すべてと、そして、すべてへのリナックスは自由を鳴らせました。
    Linux to all, and to all, let freedom ring.

  8. #1548
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by p_quarles View Post
    The other easy way is to change the value of "gap_x" and "gap_y." Those will allow you to put conky's window wherever you want it on screen.
    Yes I know, but this was easier and we've been back and forth her for a while now. I think the easy solution is the way to go under the circumstances.

    Just back from a supper break here.

  9. #1549
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by aonegodman View Post
    I must have already done that one Bruce.

    All files are still loaded into gedit and being edited as needed to complete mission.

    I would like thank all other contributors for their help also.

    I noticed in the scripts that conkymain sets my "gap_X" at 10 and "gap_y" at 10.

    Next I noticed that conkyweather sets "gap_x" at 10 and "gap_y" at 25.

    Could there be a conflict for desktop between these two?

    Is the weather displayed as part of conky or in a seperate window?

    Thanks.
    Was eating supper...
    Hold one be right back with answers for you.

    EDIT: conkyweather will display in lower left of your screen.
    That will not interfere with conkymain unless it is lower-left too
    Last edited by Bruce M.; January 22nd, 2008 at 12:43 AM. Reason: adding info

  10. #1550
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Orlando FL
    Beans
    99
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Post your .conkyrc files w/ screenshots

    Quote Originally Posted by aonegodman View Post
    I must have already done that one Bruce.

    All files are still loaded into gedit and being edited as needed to complete mission.

    I would like thank all other contributors for their help also.

    I noticed in the scripts that conkymain sets my "gap_X" at 10 and "gap_y" at 10.

    Next I noticed that conkyweather sets "gap_x" at 10 and "gap_y" at 25.

    Could there be a conflict for desktop between these two?

    Is the weather displayed as part of conky or in a seperate window?

    Thanks.

    there should not be any if they are not on the same alignment
    example: alignment top_right for conkymain and alignment bottom_right for conkyweather.

    Gap_x and gap_y is only going to change the distance between the edge of the screen and the text on the conky window. So lets say that you want conkymain just below your top panel and your panel is set to 35 pixels you would set your gap_x to 36 or 37, now you other panel is on the right side of the screen in a vertical style @ 20 pixels and you want your other conky window away from it you would do gap_y 22
    Last edited by Salpiche; January 22nd, 2008 at 12:55 AM. Reason: added info
    | Better to be a geek than an idiot! | Ubuntu user num # 15259 | Linux user # 422921 |

Page 155 of 2323 FirstFirst ... 551051451531541551561571652052556551155 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •