Page 37 of 48 FirstFirst ... 27353637383947 ... LastLast
Results 361 to 370 of 478

Thread: HOW TO: Install and configure lm-sensors

  1. #361
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    IIT Kanpur
    Beans
    346
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: HOW TO: Install and configure lm-sensors

    Quote Originally Posted by miegiel View Post
    The coretemp-isa-000X sensors sense the temperatures of the cores of intel dual core CPUs (1 for each core). I think acpitz-virtual-0 is the sensor of your laptop's motherboard, probably northbridge (with the graphics core in it), southbridge and a external CPU sensor.

    If you can see the temperatures in the BIOS (my laptop BIOS doesn't show them, but my desktop BIOS does) you can compare the values there with the values you get from lm-sensors. If you let your laptop run idle for a few min and then reboot into the BIOS the temperatures will be more or less the same.

    You can also stress different parts and see which temperature increases. For example glxgears (terminal) will stress your CPU and graphics core. And you might be able to tell which temperature is the southbridge by stressing your network (is likely connected to your southbridge) or copying files on your disk.

    Well I figured it out....temp1 is GPU, temp2 is the Southbridge and temp3 the Northbridge...thanks!!!

  2. #362
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: HOW TO: Install and configure lm-sensors

    Ok, I'm not sure if I am doing something correctly...

    Code:
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sudo sensors-detect
    # sensors-detect revision 5249 (2008-05-11 22:56:25 +0200)
    
    This program will help you determine which kernel modules you need
    to load to use lm_sensors most effectively. It is generally safe
    and recommended to accept the default answers to all questions,
    unless you know what you're doing.
    
    We can start with probing for (PCI) I2C or SMBus adapters.
    Do you want to probe now? (YES/no): y
    Probing for PCI bus adapters...
    Use driver `i2c-viapro' for device 0000:00:11.0: VIA Technologies VT8233 VLink South Bridge
    
    We will now try to load each adapter module in turn.
    Module `i2c-viapro' already loaded.
    If you have undetectable or unsupported I2C/SMBus adapters, you can have
    them scanned by manually loading the modules before running this script.
    
    We are now going to do the I2C/SMBus adapter probings. Some chips may
    be double detected; we choose the one with the highest confidence
    value in that case.
    If you found that the adapter hung after probing a certain address,
    you can specify that address to remain unprobed.
    
    Next adapter: SMBus Via Pro adapter at 0400 (i2c-0)
    Do you want to scan it? (YES/no/selectively): 
    Client found at address 0x18
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1021'...                     No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1021A/ADM1023'...            No
    Probing for `Maxim MAX1617'...                              No
    Probing for `Maxim MAX1617A'...                             No
    Probing for `Maxim MAX1668'...                              No
    Probing for `Maxim MAX1805'...                              No
    Probing for `Maxim MAX1989'...                              No
    Probing for `Maxim MAX6655/MAX6656'...                      No
    Probing for `TI THMC10'...                                  No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM84'...                No
    Probing for `Genesys Logic GL523SM'...                      No
    Probing for `Onsemi MC1066'...                              No
    Probing for `Maxim MAX1619'...                              No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM82/LM83'...           No
    Probing for `Maxim MAX6680/MAX6681'...                      No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM64'...                No
    Client found at address 0x2d
    Probing for `Myson MTP008'...                               No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78'...                No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78-J'...              No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM79'...                No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM80'...                No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM85 or LM96000'...     No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1027, ADT7460 or ADT7463'... No
    Probing for `SMSC EMC6D100, EMC6D101 or EMC6D102'...        No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADT7476'...                     No
    Probing for `Andigilog aSC7611'...                          No
    Probing for `Andigilog aSC7621'...                          No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM87'...                No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM93'...                No
    Probing for `Winbond W83781D'...                            No
    Probing for `Winbond W83782D'...                            No
    Probing for `Winbond W83783S'...                            No
    Probing for `Winbond W83792D'...                            No
    Probing for `Winbond W83793R/G'...                          No
    Probing for `Winbond W83791SD'...                           No
    Probing for `Winbond W83627HF'...                           Success!
        (confidence 8, driver `use-isa-instead', other addresses: 0x48 0x49)
    Probing for `Winbond W83627EHF'...                          No
    Probing for `Winbond W83627DHG'...                          No
    Probing for `Asus AS99127F (rev.1)'...                      No
    Probing for `Asus AS99127F (rev.2)'...                      No
    Probing for `Asus ASB100 Bach'...                           No
    Probing for `Winbond W83L784R/AR/G'...                      No
    Probing for `Winbond W83L785R/G'...                         No
    Probing for `Genesys Logic GL518SM Revision 0x00'...        No
    Probing for `Genesys Logic GL518SM Revision 0x80'...        No
    Probing for `Genesys Logic GL520SM'...                      No
    Probing for `Genesys Logic GL525SM'...                      No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM9240'...                     No
    Probing for `Dallas Semiconductor DS1780'...                No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM81'...                No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1026'...                     No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1025'...                     No
    Probing for `Philips NE1619'...                             No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1029'...                     No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1030'...                     No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1031'...                     No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1022'...                     No
    Probing for `Texas Instruments THMC50'...                   No
    Probing for `VIA VT1211 (I2C)'...                           No
    Probing for `ITE IT8712F'...                                No
    Probing for `ALi M5879'...                                  No
    Probing for `SMSC LPC47M15x/192/292/997'...                 No
    Probing for `SMSC DME1737'...                               No
    Probing for `SMSC SCH5027D-NW'...                           No
    Probing for `Fintek F75373S/SG'...                          No
    Probing for `Fintek F75375S/SP'...                          No
    Probing for `Fintek F75387SG/RG'...                         No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1024'...                     No
    Probing for `Winbond W83791D'...                            No
    Client found at address 0x48
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM75'...                No
    Probing for `Dallas Semiconductor DS75'...                  No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM77'...                No
    Probing for `Dallas Semiconductor DS1621/DS1631'...         No
    Probing for `Maxim MAX6650/MAX6651'...                      No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM92'...                No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM76'...                No
    Probing for `Maxim MAX6633/MAX6634/MAX6635'...              No
    Client found at address 0x49
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM75'...                No
    Probing for `Dallas Semiconductor DS75'...                  No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM77'...                No
    Probing for `Dallas Semiconductor DS1621/DS1631'...         No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM92'...                No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM76'...                No
    Probing for `Maxim MAX6633/MAX6634/MAX6635'...              No
    Client found at address 0x50
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1033'...                     No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1034'...                     No
    Probing for `SPD EEPROM'...                                 Yes
        (confidence 8, not a hardware monitoring chip)
    Probing for `EDID EEPROM'...                                No
    Client found at address 0x51
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1033'...                     No
    Probing for `Analog Devices ADM1034'...                     No
    Probing for `SPD EEPROM'...                                 Yes
        (confidence 8, not a hardware monitoring chip)
    Probing for `EDID EEPROM'...                                No
    
    Some chips are also accessible through the ISA I/O ports. We have to
    write to arbitrary I/O ports to probe them. This is usually safe though.
    Yes, you do have ISA I/O ports even if you do not have any ISA slots!
    Do you want to scan the ISA I/O ports? (YES/no): 
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78' at 0x290...       No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78-J' at 0x290...     No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM79' at 0x290...       No
    Probing for `Winbond W83781D' at 0x290...                   No
    Probing for `Winbond W83782D' at 0x290...                   No
    Probing for `IPMI BMC KCS' at 0xca0...                      No
    Probing for `IPMI BMC SMIC' at 0xca8...                     No
    
    Some Super I/O chips may also contain sensors. We have to write to
    standard I/O ports to probe them. This is usually safe.
    Do you want to scan for Super I/O sensors? (YES/no): 
    Probing for Super-I/O at 0x2e/0x2f
    Trying family `National Semiconductor'...                   No
    Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No
    Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Fintek'...                       Yes
    Found `Winbond W83627HF/F/HG/G Super IO Sensors'            Success!
        (address 0x290, driver `w83627hf')
    Probing for Super-I/O at 0x4e/0x4f
    Trying family `National Semiconductor'...                   No
    Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No
    Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Fintek'...                       No
    Trying family `ITE'...                                      No
    
    Some south bridges, CPUs or memory controllers may also contain
    embedded sensors. Do you want to scan for them? (YES/no): 
    Silicon Integrated Systems SIS5595...                       No
    VIA VT82C686 Integrated Sensors...                          No
    VIA VT8231 Integrated Sensors...                            No
    AMD K8 thermal sensors...                                   No
    AMD K10 thermal sensors...                                  No
    Intel Core family thermal sensor...                         No
    Intel AMB FB-DIMM thermal sensor...                         No
    
    Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
    Just press ENTER to continue: 
    
    Driver `w83627hf' (should be inserted):
      Detects correctly:
      * ISA bus, address 0x290
        Chip `Winbond W83627HF/F/HG/G Super IO Sensors' (confidence: 9)
    
    I will now generate the commands needed to load the required modules.
    Just press ENTER to continue: 
    
    To load everything that is needed, add this to /etc/modules:
    
    #----cut here----
    # Chip drivers
    w83627hf
    #----cut here----
    
    Do you want to add these lines automatically? (yes/NO)
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sudo /etc/init.d/module-init-tools
    Usage: /etc/init.d/module-init-tools COMMAND
    
    ----> My edit:  what goes into COMMAND? I tried w3627hf <------
    
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sudo /etc/init.d/module-init-tools w83627hf
    Rather than invoking init scripts through /etc/init.d, use the service(8)
    utility, e.g. service module-init-tools w83627hf
    
    The script you are attempting to invoke has been converted to an Upstart
    job, but w83627hf is not supported for Upstart jobs.
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/local
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sudo update-modules
    sudo: update-modules: command not found
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sudo gedit /etc/modules
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sudo modprobe i2c-viapro
    WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/local, it will be ignored in a future release.
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sudo i2c-0
    sudo: i2c-0: command not found
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sudo modprobe i2c-0
    WARNING: All config files need .conf: /etc/modprobe.d/local, it will be ignored in a future release.
    FATAL: Module i2c_0 not found.
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sudo rm /etc/modprobe.d/local
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sudo modprobe i2c-viapro
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sudo modprobe i2c-0
    FATAL: Module i2c_0 not found.
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sudo modprobe use-isa-instead
    FATAL: Module use_isa_instead not found.
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sudo modprobe i2c-isa
    FATAL: Module i2c_isa not found.
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sudo modprobe w83627hf
    FATAL: Error inserting w83627hf (/lib/modules/2.6.31-16-generic/kernel/drivers/hwmon/w83627hf.ko): Device or resource busy
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sensors
    No sensors found!
    Make sure you loaded all the kernel drivers you need.
    Try sensors-detect to find out which these are.
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$
    I have a MSI K7T266 Pro Ver.1 mobo, and I know there are sensors and I want to control fan speed after getting this working. This thing sounds like it's gonna lift off!

    I am running 9.10 and the latest updates.

    Thanks,
    J

  3. #363
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    I'm lost ... HELP!
    Beans
    1,013
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: HOW TO: Install and configure lm-sensors

    Quote Originally Posted by jeremey View Post
    Ok, I'm not sure if I am doing something correctly...

    ... snip ...

    I have a MSI K7T266 Pro Ver.1 mobo, and I know there are sensors and I want to control fan speed after getting this working. This thing sounds like it's gonna lift off!

    I am running 9.10 and the latest updates.

    Thanks,
    J
    After
    Code:
    sudo sensors-detect
    you should have run
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/modules
    or
    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/modules
    added the next 2 lines
    Code:
    # Chip drivers
    w83627hf
    save and reboot
    Last edited by miegiel; December 16th, 2009 at 11:26 AM. Reason: typo : )

  4. #364
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: HOW TO: Install and configure lm-sensors

    Thanks miegiel,

    Ok, Here's my etc/modules:

    Code:
    # /etc/modules: kernel modules to load at boot time.
    #
    # This file contains the names of kernel modules that should be loaded
    # at boot time, one per line. Lines beginning with "#" are ignored.
    
    loop
    lp
    floppy
    
    # Chip drivers
    w83627hf
    I rebooted with that, then:

    Code:
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sensors
    No sensors found!
    Make sure you loaded all the kernel drivers you need.
    Try sensors-detect to find out which these are.
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$

  5. #365
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    I'm lost ... HELP!
    Beans
    1,013
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: HOW TO: Install and configure lm-sensors

    Quote Originally Posted by jeremey View Post
    Thanks miegiel,

    Ok, Here's my etc/modules:

    Code:
    # /etc/modules: kernel modules to load at boot time.
    #
    # This file contains the names of kernel modules that should be loaded
    # at boot time, one per line. Lines beginning with "#" are ignored.
    
    loop
    lp
    floppy
    
    # Chip drivers
    w83627hf
    I rebooted with that, then:

    Code:
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$ sensors
    No sensors found!
    Make sure you loaded all the kernel drivers you need.
    Try sensors-detect to find out which these are.
    jeremey@ubuntu:~$
    Before you reboot you need to add the sensor to the /etc/modules file (you need root rights to do that). See the steps in my post above.

  6. #366
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    25

    Re: HOW TO: Install and configure lm-sensors

    Quote Originally Posted by jlh68 View Post
    On my Laptop, I can only get one temperature to show: ACPI THRM CPU and lmsensors temp1, actually they are both reporting the same thing. I do not get my HDD temp or any other data. I can get my HDD temp by using the following command "sudo hddtemp /dev/sda", so I know it is available. I do get the HDD temp on my desktop.
    Could someone please answer this unanswered question, because i have the same question?

    thanks

  7. #367
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    22

    Re: HOW TO: Install and configure lm-sensors

    I've tried all of this and still nothing will allow me to kep the fans running on my Toshiba satellite laptop.

    The lm-sensors and sensor-detect do not work as shown here on this particular laptop it seems.
    I can't get the sensor-applet to run either. (It is installed but not in /usr/bin as is the sensors executable)

    #sensors
    acpitz-virtual-0
    Adapter: Virtual device
    temp1: +59.0°C (crit = +104.0°C)

    coretemp-isa-0000
    Adapter: ISA adapter
    Core 0: +59.0°C (high = +100.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

    coretemp-isa-0001
    Adapter: ISA adapter
    Core 1: +60.0°C (high = +100.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

    /etc/moduels file-
    # /etc/modules: kernel modules to load at boot time.
    #
    # This file contains the names of kernel modules that should be loaded
    # at boot time, one per line. Lines beginning with "#" are ignored.

    lp

    # Generated by sensors-detect on Sun Dec 27 12:08:12 2009
    # Chip drivers
    coretemp



    The real problem is that the temperature limits seem to be set incorrectly and I have yet to find a way (that works on my laptop) to lower them.

    No problems until I try to play any streaming video full screen then the CPU overheats because the fan doesn't speed up enough until right about the time it shuts off due to over temp.

    Nothing related to monitoring or controlling the fan speeds works on this computer it seems.

    From the files related to ACPI--
    cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/cooling_mode
    <setting not supported>

    cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/polling_frequency
    <polling disabled>

    cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/state
    state: ok

    NOTE: This matches the sensors output and the output shown on the toolbar by kSensors.

    cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/temperature
    temperature: 54 C

    cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/trip_points
    critical (S5): 104 C
    passive: 104 C: tc1=2 tc2=3 tsp=40 devices=CPU0

    And I've tried the things I can find related to changing the argument in grub:

    # If you change this file, run 'update-grub' afterwards to update
    # /boot/grub/grub.cfg.

    GRUB_DEFAULT=0
    #GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT=0
    GRUB_HIDDEN_TIMEOUT_QUIET=true
    GRUB_TIMEOUT=10
    GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=`lsb_release -i -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=" acpi_osi=force"
    // tried these (Yeah, I ran grub-update between boots:
    // quiet splash acpi_osi=Linux
    // quiet splash acpi_osi=force
    // quiet splash
    // removing quiet and splash even though they have NOTHING to do with it.
    // Nothing changes in the fan behavior.
    #quiet splash

    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""

    # Uncomment to disable graphical terminal (grub-pc only)
    #GRUB_TERMINAL=console

    # The resolution used on graphical terminal
    # note that you can use only modes which your graphic card supports via VBE
    # you can see them in real GRUB with the command `vbeinfo'
    #GRUB_GFXMODE=640x480

    # Uncomment if you don't want GRUB to pass "root=UUID=xxx" parameter to Linux
    #GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_UUID=true

    # Uncomment to disable generation of recovery mode menu entrys
    #GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_RECOVERY="true"

    Oh, and also the things related to HOWTO Fix A Buggy DSDT File
    If I decompile and recompile my DSDT file the only errors are related to some sort of warnings about line terminators, nothing in the code itself.
    Last edited by mhousel; December 28th, 2009 at 06:34 PM.

  8. #368
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    I'm lost ... HELP!
    Beans
    1,013
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: HOW TO: Install and configure lm-sensors

    Quote Originally Posted by zedstrange View Post
    Could someone please answer this unanswered question, because i have the same question?

    thanks
    You can't read hdd temps with lm-sensors (at least I never have). Use hddtemp to get your hdd temperature.

    install :
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install hddtemp
    display hdd temp in terminal :
    Code:
    sudo hddtemp /dev/sda
    display hdd temp in conky :
    Code:
    ${hddtemp /dev/sda}

  9. #369
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    25

    Re: HOW TO: Install and configure lm-sensors

    Quote Originally Posted by miegiel View Post
    You can't read hdd temps with lm-sensors (at least I never have). Use hddtemp to get your hdd temperature.
    I figured it out finally, the hddtemp daemon needs to be loaded at startup (one would think that such an obvious thing would have been published/discussed more often). Then it will be displayed as options with any of the Sensors applications, like GkrellM and Hardware Sensors Monitor.

    Credit goes to this thread
    http://swiss.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1359129

    run this

    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure hddtemp

  10. #370
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    66

    Re: HOW TO: Install and configure lm-sensors

    I did all the stuff as outlines in the posts but I get the foll:
    No sensors found!
    Make sure you loaded all the kernel drivers you need.
    Try sensors-detect to find out which these are.

    What could this mean?
    Mine is a new ASUS EVO motherboard and I just finished configuring all the stuff.

    also I tried computer temp and that did not work too?

    X sensors (from add software) also did not work.

    I am running the 64 bit version, btw.

    Please help.

    Cannon

Page 37 of 48 FirstFirst ... 27353637383947 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •