Page 9 of 18 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 172

Thread: Dual Boot on Two Drives

  1. #81
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    45
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Dual Boot on Two Drives

    Help!

    I have set up with Ubuntu 6.10 on the master (with a ext3 storage partition as well) and Windows XP on the slave. They are boh IDE drives with the end connector in the XP/slave and the middle connector in the Ubuntu/master. Both installations were done with the other drive disconnected. I have edited grub like bulldog said but when i choose XP from GRUB it says:

    Code:
    Error 21: Selected disk does not exist
    But it does! I have mounted the Windows drive in Ubuntu & I can boot windows with my Ubuntu drive disconnected.

    In GRUB menu.lst I have put:
    Code:
    title Windows XP
    map (hd0,0) (hd1,0)
    map (hd1,0) (hd0,0)
    rootnoverify (hd1,0)
    makeactive
    chainloader +1
    and I also tried:
    Code:
    title Windows XP
    root (hd1,0)
    makeactive
    map (hd0) (hd1)
    map (hd1) (hd0)
    chainloader +1
    which gave the same error.

    Is it possible that I just have my drive numbers mixed up? And how would I find what they are. sudo fdisk -l gives:

    Code:
    Disk /dev/hda: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/hda1   *           1        3264    26218048+  83  Linux
    /dev/hda2           24182       24321     1124550    5  Extended
    /dev/hda3            3265       24181   168015802+  83  Linux
    /dev/hda5           24182       24321     1124518+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
    
    Partition table entries are not in disk order
    
    Disk /dev/hdb: 41.1 GB, 41174138880 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 5005 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/hdb1   *           1        5004    40194598+   7  HPFS/NTFS
    Can anyone help?

    Thanx
    Pete
    xx

  2. #82
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    California USA
    Beans
    116
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Dual Boot on Two Drives

    I'm no expert but do you get the grub countdown when you boot the computer? And what happens when you let the time lapse? Does Windows boot automatically then?
    Dell Inspiron 600m 1.8GHz|ATI 9000mobile|2Gb RAM|Intel 2915ABG|dual boot Win7/UNE 10.04
    Nokia N810
    Dell Studio XPS|i7-920|6Gb RAM|Nvidia-G220|Win7|XP & Maverick in VMware player

  3. #83
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Bonnie Scotland
    Beans
    2,307
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Dual Boot on Two Drives

    The far end of the cable is the master connector.

    The middle connector is the slave connector.

    Jumpers on the drives have to be set to match or both set as cable select.

    Things will be easier with Windows on master.

  4. #84
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    45
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Dual Boot on Two Drives

    Quote Originally Posted by la3875 View Post
    I'm no expert but do you get the grub countdown when you boot the computer? And what happens when you let the time lapse? Does Windows boot automatically then?
    If I let the countdown lapse it auto boots Ubuntu.

    Quote Originally Posted by gn2 View Post
    The far end of the cable is the master connector.

    The middle connector is the slave connector.

    Jumpers on the drives have to be set to match or both set as cable select.

    Things will be easier with Windows on master.
    OK now this is annoying! Just put the hds to cable select (never understood what that meant til now) with Windows on the master, Ubuntu on the slave. Changed the boot order in BIOS so slave boots first. Turned on the computer. GRUB loads fine. Select Windows... Hooray it loads! Then reboot, try Ubuntu and...

    Code:
    BusyBox v.1.1.3 (Debian 1:1.1.3-2ubuntu3) Built-in shell (ash)
    Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.
    
    /bin/sh: can't access tty; job control turned off
    (initramfs)
    humph

    typing 'help' gives a long list of command line commands.

    any ideas?

    thanx
    xx

  5. #85
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    45
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Dual Boot on Two Drives

    OK from other threads I think it's failing cos GRUB is pointing to the wrong partition. So in menu.lst I created a new entry for Ubuntu (copied the old one) with:

    Code:
    title		Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.17-10-generic (SLAVE)
    root		(hd1,0)
    kernel		/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.17-10-generic root=/dev/hda1 ro quiet splash
    initrd		/boot/initrd.img-2.6.17-10-generic
    quiet
    savedefault
    boot
    Which is the same as the entry for when it's plugged into the master but with root (hd1,0) instead of (hd0,0).

    But, alas, that comes back with:

    Code:
    Error 17: Cannot mount selected partion
    I was sure that was gonna work! What have I done wrong!?!

  6. #86
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Dual Boot on Two Drives

    Quote Originally Posted by veganrailpunk View Post
    OK from other threads I think it's failing cos GRUB is pointing to the wrong partition. So in menu.lst I created a new entry for Ubuntu (copied the old one) with:

    Code:
    title		Ubuntu, kernel 2.6.17-10-generic (SLAVE)
    root		(hd1,0)
    kernel		/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.17-10-generic root=/dev/hda1 ro quiet splash
    initrd		/boot/initrd.img-2.6.17-10-generic
    quiet
    savedefault
    boot
    Which is the same as the entry for when it's plugged into the master but with root (hd1,0) instead of (hd0,0).

    But, alas, that comes back with:

    Code:
    Error 17: Cannot mount selected partion
    I was sure that was gonna work! What have I done wrong!?!
    Think you have to set the root at (hd0,0) instead of (hd1,0)
    It's the first disk (hd0) and first partition (hdo,o) pointing to hda1.

    Didn't read everything though and have no more time at the moment but will look into it later this evening if this is not gonna work.
    Post back if this is not good.
    Resistance is futile.....you will be assimilated!

    Registered Linux User 418427.
    #Ubuntu User 3226#

  7. #87
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    45
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Dual Boot on Two Drives

    Quote Originally Posted by bulldog View Post
    Think you have to set the root at (hd0,0) instead of (hd1,0)
    It's the first disk (hd0) and first partition (hdo,o) pointing to hda1.

    Didn't read everything though and have no more time at the moment but will look into it later this evening if this is not gonna work.
    Post back if this is not good.
    Nope doesn't work, I have Ubuntu on the slave so wouldn't that be (hd1,0)?

    I tried having Windows on the slave with your map bits but it wouldn't have it although that entry works when it is plugged in the master (I set slave to boot in bios so I get GRUB)

    When Ubuntu is plugged to the master, root (hd0,0) works fine, but as I can't get windows to work on the slave I need Ubuntu on the slave. Is Ubuntu not happy on the slave? Not interchangeable? I am new to this...

    Thanx
    xx

  8. #88
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Dual Boot on Two Drives

    Set ubuntu and GRUB as master on your mobo.
    Then we take a look at your GRUB to get windows started.

    If Ubuntu and GRUB are master hdd you can boot ubuntu but not windows.
    This should be not to difficult to correct it.
    Resistance is futile.....you will be assimilated!

    Registered Linux User 418427.
    #Ubuntu User 3226#

  9. #89
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    45
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Dual Boot on Two Drives

    Quote Originally Posted by bulldog View Post
    Set ubuntu and GRUB as master on your mobo.
    Then we take a look at your GRUB to get windows started.

    If Ubuntu and GRUB are master hdd you can boot ubuntu but not windows.
    This should be not to difficult to correct it.
    Just put Ubuntu and GRUB back on master and... it worked!! I think I had my BIOS set up wrong and while I was busy playing with it to set Windows as the master I fixed it. Silly me. Thanx for everyone's help!

    I definitely think bulldogs GRUB method is the way forward. Quality.

    Love to everyone
    xx

  10. #90
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Scotland
    Beans
    5
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06 Dapper

    Re: Dual Boot on Two Drives

    Am I correct in thinking that in the menu.lst reference to hd(0,0) refers to the root partition of the master disk and hd(1,0) the root partition of the slave disk?

    Just want to make sure before I start messing about with grub (whic I think I will have to do this heap of junk I'm using doesn't seem to want me to get into the bios to choose where I'm booting from).

    Also can I edit this with a text editor (vi for example)?

Page 9 of 18 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •