Page 9 of 16 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 155

Thread: HowTo: WPA with wpa_supplicant

  1. #81
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    35
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: HowTo: WPA with wpa_supplicant

    i figured out the answers to the questions i had above. though i still don't know what "dhclient3" is... anyways, i've almost got my computer connected to the wireless, but it still has the disconnection symbol on the icon. everything is fine until I run
    Code:
    sudo dhclient
    and then the response is
    Code:
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in the persistent database - sleeping.
    there's more to the response, but it's too long to type out, and i can't copy and paste, as i am using a different computer than the one that's having problems. =(

    It's been doing that every single time. So far, i've changed from automatic DHCP to a static IP, i've changed codes in the wpa_supplicant.conf AND the /etc/network/interfaces, and nothing seems to make a difference. It keeps getting stuck at that point.

    this is what i have in my /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
    Code:
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    #ap_scan=2
    
    network={
        ssid="networkname"
        scan_ssid=0
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        proto=WPA
    #  pairwise=CCMP TKIP
    #  group=CCMP TKIP
        psk=very long number/letter sequence
    }
    is it possible to have settings for two different wireless networks? if so, how do i do that? I assume that it would deal with the other dealies in the interfaces file, like eth0, eth1, eth2, wlan0, and lo, but what do all those mean?
    Last edited by aresgoddess; January 19th, 2007 at 09:43 PM.
    "The only stupid question is the one not asked."

  2. #82
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    3

    Re: HowTo: WPA with wpa_supplicant

    Hello

    I'm trying to configure WPA using my ipw2200

    My /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf:
    Code:
    ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
    #ap_scan=2
    
    network={
           ssid="senso-unico.nl"
           scan_ssid=1
           proto=WPA RSN
           key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
           pairwise=CCMP TKIP
           group=CCMP TKIP
           psk=<<<CUT>>>
    }
    My /etc/network/interfaces:
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    
    auto eth1
    iface eth1 inet dhcp
    pre-up wpa_supplicant -Bw -Dwext -ieth1 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
    post-down killall -q wpa_supplicant
    
    auto eth2
    iface eth2 inet dhcp
    
    auto ath0
    iface ath0 inet dhcp
    
    auto wlan0
    iface wlan0 inet dhcp

    Now when I run
    Code:
    $ sudo wpa_supplicant -w -Dwext -i eth1 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -dd
    I get:
    Code:
    Initializing interface 'eth1' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'wext' ctrl_interface 'N/A'
    Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
    Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
    ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
    Line: 4 - start of a new network block
    ssid - hexdump_ascii(len=14):
         73 65 6e 73 6f 2d 75 6e 69 63 6f 2e 6e 6c         senso-unico.nl
    scan_ssid=1 (0x1)
    proto: 0x3
    key_mgmt: 0x2
    pairwise: 0x18
    group: 0x18
    PSK - hexdump(len=32): [REMOVED]
    Priority group 0
       id=0 ssid='senso-unico.nl'
    Initializing interface (2) 'eth1'
    EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
    EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
    EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
    EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
    EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
    EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
    SIOCGIWRANGE: WE(compiled)=19 WE(source)=18 enc_capa=0xf
      capabilities: key_mgmt 0xf enc 0xf
    Own MAC address: 00:13:ce:d9:72:f3
    wpa_driver_wext_set_wpa
    wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
    wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
    wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
    wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
    wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
    wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
    Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
    Using existing control interface directory.
    bind(PF_UNIX): Address already in use
    ctrl_iface exists and seems to be in use - cannot override it
    Delete '/var/run/wpa_supplicant/eth1' manually if it is not used anymore
    Failed to initialize control interface '/var/run/wpa_supplicant'.
    You may have another wpa_supplicant process already running or the file was
    left by an unclean termination of wpa_supplicant in which case you will need
    to manually remove this file before starting wpa_supplicant again.
    Failed to add interface eth1
    State: DISCONNECTED -> DISCONNECTED
    No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
    EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
    EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
    wpa_driver_wext_set_wpa
    wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
    wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
    No keys have been configured - skip key clearing
    Cancelling scan request
    Anyone any ideas?

    Thanks!

    Bou

  3. #83
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    3

    Re: HowTo: WPA with wpa_supplicant

    I got by this problem by first deactivating my eth1 in System - Administration - Networking

    Now I get the following problem:
    Code:
    bou@nlyehvsaq1nb0lf:~$ sudo wpa_supplicant -w -Dwext -i eth1 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -dd
    Initializing interface 'eth1' conf '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' driver 'wext' ctrl_interface 'N/A'
    Configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf' -> '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
    Reading configuration file '/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf'
    ctrl_interface='/var/run/wpa_supplicant'
    Line: 4 - start of a new network block
    ssid - hexdump_ascii(len=14):
         73 65 6e 73 6f 2d 75 6e 69 63 6f 2e 6e 6c         senso-unico.nl
    scan_ssid=1 (0x1)
    proto: 0x3
    key_mgmt: 0x2
    pairwise: 0x18
    group: 0x18
    PSK - hexdump(len=32): [REMOVED]
    Priority group 0
       id=0 ssid='senso-unico.nl'
    Initializing interface (2) 'eth1'
    EAPOL: SUPP_PAE entering state DISCONNECTED
    EAPOL: KEY_RX entering state NO_KEY_RECEIVE
    EAPOL: SUPP_BE entering state INITIALIZE
    EAP: EAP entering state DISABLED
    EAPOL: External notification - portEnabled=0
    EAPOL: External notification - portValid=0
    SIOCGIWRANGE: WE(compiled)=19 WE(source)=18 enc_capa=0xf
      capabilities: key_mgmt 0xf enc 0xf
    Own MAC address: 00:13:ce:d9:72:f3
    wpa_driver_wext_set_wpa
    wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=0 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
    wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=1 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
    wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=2 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
    wpa_driver_wext_set_key: alg=0 key_idx=3 set_tx=0 seq_len=0 key_len=0
    wpa_driver_wext_set_countermeasures
    wpa_driver_wext_set_drop_unencrypted
    Setting scan request: 0 sec 100000 usec
    Added interface eth1
    Wireless event: cmd=0x8b06 len=8
    RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'eth1' added
    RTM_NEWLINK, IFLA_IFNAME: Interface 'eth1' added
    State: DISCONNECTED -> SCANNING
    Starting AP scan (specific SSID)
    Scan SSID - hexdump_ascii(len=14):
         73 65 6e 73 6f 2d 75 6e 69 63 6f 2e 6e 6c         senso-unico.nl
    Scan timeout - try to get results
    Received 0 bytes of scan results (0 BSSes)
    Scan results: 0
    Selecting BSS from priority group 0
    No suitable AP found.
    Setting scan request: 5 sec 0 usec
    Starting AP scan (broadcast SSID)
    Scan timeout - try to get results
    Received 0 bytes of scan results (0 BSSes)
    Scan results: 0
    Selecting BSS from priority group 0
    No suitable AP found.
    What does that mean, "no suitable AP found"?

  4. #84
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    3

    Re: HowTo: WPA with wpa_supplicant

    Quote Originally Posted by luca_linux View Post
    From what you have written, I see you have an Atheros-based wireless card, so in the wpa_supplicant run command you should change "-Dwext" into "-Dmadwifi".
    I have an Intel Pro Wireless 2200, and I now use -Dwext, is that ok?

  5. #85
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    1

    Re: HowTo: WPA with wpa_supplicant

    Hey guys.

    So I just switched to Ubuntu from Fedora today and I'm trying to get my Intel 2200b/g going (as I couldn't on Fedora either!!!

    Few questions:

    1) Which driver should I be using for the 2200? Dwext or Dipw?
    2) No matter what I seem to do it doesn't even look like my wireless LED lights up at all!
    3) Is this really what has to be done to connect to any WPA network? Seems a bit long winded.

    Thanks in advance guys...

  6. #86
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    capital of beer
    Beans
    547

    Re: HowTo: WPA with wpa_supplicant

    I tried farting around with lots of code in my /etc/network/interfaces, Knet, KWlan, KwifiManager and what have you - all to no avail.

    This little howto did it for me and my IBM T41 - bloody excellent work!

    Thanks a million!

    Ingo
    repartitioning your installation / forever noob / Desktop on Debian Lenny / IBM T41 purring along on bog Kubuntu

  7. #87
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    capital of beer
    Beans
    547

    Re: HowTo: WPA with wpa_supplicant

    ok, first it worked, then it didn't, then it did again...

    worrisome!

    switched to knetworkmanager (https://wiki.ubuntu.com/DapperKNetworkmanager) and it is the absolute killer when it comes to working with networks.

    there is a little configuration to be done (feel free to ask questions) but quite simply superb.
    repartitioning your installation / forever noob / Desktop on Debian Lenny / IBM T41 purring along on bog Kubuntu

  8. #88
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    München, Germany
    Beans
    46
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: HowTo: WPA with wpa_supplicant

    Hi everyone !

    First I' d like to congratulate to luca_linux for this very nice howto !

    I have 3 minor problems ...

    1,To luca: you also have ipw2200 why is it not working with

    Code:
    sudo wpa_supplicant -Bw -Dipw -i eth0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
    It works if I use -Dwext so it is not a big thing I'm just curious

    2,Any of you guys (and/or girls ) tried to use ipw2200 chip with WPA under M$ Windozer ? Because if I switch my network to WPA my other machines with ipw2200 (and XP) would not connect.

    I read some articles about ipw2200 + WPA under XP but none of them give straight and exact explanation (unlike this GREAT howto )

    3, Is WPA 2 possible somehow ? My router is capable for sure ... but I think ipw2200 will be not enough for that

    Thanks for all !
    Experience is a good teacher not a kind one.

  9. #89
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Question Re: HowTo: WPA with wpa_supplicant

    Hi ,

    I have installed ubuntu 6.10 on my dell inspirion 6000 and love it (the LAN card works fine and I can get itnernet) - one glitch - quite major - I can't get the wireless inbuilt centrino adaptor to work - ultimatley I want it to work over my WPA TKIP connection that my existing windows boxes use.

    As I want to transition away from Windows this is the only factor stopping me from making the switch on all my computers to Ubuntu - so please help if possible.

    When I do an iwlist I can see that eth1 seems to be picking up my wireless access point SSID. But it will not connect. I have followed the above instructions except when I type in the wpa_passphrase your_ssid your_psk - nothing comes back.

    Do I have to download the tar files suggested in http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=26623 , and then extract and install them to het wpa+passphrase to work or should they be there with 6.10 ?

    So is the psk that needs to go into the psk part of the wpa_supplicant file ned to be generated by using the wpa_passphrase command ?


    thanks heaps
    steve

  10. #90
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    capital of beer
    Beans
    547

    Re: HowTo: WPA with wpa_supplicant

    Hi s-bris,

    even though I have never run Ubuntu (Kubuntu is my poison) I am certain that you might want to try this little beauty

    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/DapperKNetworkmanager

    Not only does it list all the networks your card can see, but it also takes care of wep and wpa for you.

    HTH
    repartitioning your installation / forever noob / Desktop on Debian Lenny / IBM T41 purring along on bog Kubuntu

Page 9 of 16 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •