Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Disabling Dansguard

Beans

Disabling Dansguard

Hello all. I am new to the linux scene and love it, actually. Until I can get a few files to either migrate or put on a CD/DVD disc i am going to switch over to Ubuntu complete...
    The reason for the post is i am wondering if it is possible to disable Dansguardian (until i figure out how to configure properly). i had tried it before amd it blocked a lot of sites that weren't questionable (since i have been in linux, it's been reading through various linux sites (mainly staying with the ines with tutorials and news and such) but it would block it out. Since i am also a Christian i liked the theme-based idea of Ubuntu Christian Edition: the various religious or biblical aspects. So it's not that i am going to sites (well... ) that are in question, it's kind pf frustrating. i just did a complete reinstall as i was tinkering with this and that (all kinds of software and desktops and such) kept installing removing and reinstalling
    Any help would be appreciated. i have been searching the threads and haven't seen much but still looking.

Pman

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Disabling Dansguard

Hello, I disabled dansguardian by setting my browser to use the tinyproxy directly at port 3128. Normally the firewall is set up to disallow this, but after removing this line in /etc/firehol/firehol.conf it is possible:

iptables -t filter -I OUTPUT -d 127.0.0.1 -p tcp --dport 3128 -m owner ! --uid-owner dansguardian -j DROP

sudo gedit /etc/firehol/firehol.conf
    put a # in the beginning of that row: #iptables -t filter ...
    then reboot or restart the firewall by:
    sudo firehol stop
    sudo firehol start

This way only those who figure out to set the browser to use http proxy at port 3128 can bypass the filter, I have it setup like this to be able to have very tight rules for the small kids while still allowing normal use for the rest of the family.

Beans