Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 104

Thread: HOWTO: Change bootup resolution

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    1

    Re: HOWTO: Change bootup resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by dizzie View Post
    If only 1280x800 was supported...
    Does this mean that I would never be able to install ubuntu on my 1280x800 screen laptop ?
    Which part of the software don't support this resolution the xorg server ?
    Where can we get more info about 1280x800 support ?
    Last edited by sg.forums; November 14th, 2006 at 11:49 PM.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    England London
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: HOWTO: Change bootup resolution

    Whats the vga setting for a laptop screen resolution 1400x1050
    with a dual screen of running 1280x1024 of a docking station.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    522
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: HOWTO: Change bootup resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by sg.forums View Post
    Does this mean that I would never be able to install ubuntu on my 1280x800 screen laptop ?
    No, of course not. This thread is a howto for a mod to change the "Bootup resolution". ie. the splash screen with the progress bar you see before x starts. 1280 x 800 is not supported *for this mod*, but of course is supported for xorg or whatever.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    19
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06

    Re: HOWTO: Change bootup resolution

    To change your framebuffer to something like 1280x800 append "vga=0x368" to your kerneloptions. This looks better then "791" or similar but breaks the centered position of usplash!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    36

    Re: HOWTO: Change bootup resolution

    hi this was a great and very very informative and well-written post. Thank you very much.
    Now I just want to find out how to get coloured fonts in the console, so that files/folders appear differently. Like on the gentoo/knoppix live cds.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Beans
    93

    Re: HOWTO: Change bootup resolution

    About this subject i would like to ask,
    Is it possible to set up a background image for the virtual consoles like SUSE does?

    I mean, when i hit CTRL-ALT-F1 in suse, i get the console with a background image wich has the suse logo on top, and a sort of shading in it.
    In ubuntu it's just black. Can it be changed?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Southern Indiana, USA
    Beans
    1,644
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: HOWTO: Change bootup resolution

    I get:
    "You passed an undefined mode", and it tells me that I have just a VESA VGA, and lists all the modes when requested, but then does not go "graphical" until the booting is finished.

    The modes it lists are all DOS modes - 80X25, 132x60, 80x43, etc...

    BTW have an Intel 82810E DC-133 on board graphics controller.

    (Having other probs with it - posts elsewhere- , but I want to see if I can get this one solved here...)

    Thanks
    Ubuntu 12.04 LTS (& Windows XP-SP3 for Flight Sim only) - (1) 3.4 G/3G RAM/NVIDIA GT630, 2048VRAM/SB AudigySE Audio (2) 2.9 G/2G RAM/NVIDIA 9500GT,1024VRAM/SB Audio (3) 2.3 G/2G RAM/NVIDIA FX1500M,256VRAM/Sigmatel Audio

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

    Re: HOWTO: Change bootup resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by samoht View Post
    To change your framebuffer to something like 1280x800 append "vga=0x368" to your kerneloptions. This looks better then "791" or similar but breaks the centered position of usplash!
    I am rather certain that doing so doesn't work at all in Ubuntu. I also know that there are modelines that work for 1400x1050, but I don't remember them right now.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ciudad Aut.de Bs. As. ARG
    Beans
    566
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: HOWTO: Change bootup resolution

    I have found a very interesting tool in this forum, Startup-manager. You can set all the options in the grub and usplash image.
    http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=295524

    Works great ! Installs into the Administration menu.
    jpmorelli
    Ubuntu Linux User Group Argentina http://ubuntu-ar.org

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: HOWTO: Change bootup resolution

    Quote Originally Posted by cevans View Post
    I am rather certain that doing so doesn't work at all in Ubuntu. I also know that there are modelines that work for 1400x1050, but I don't remember them right now.
    Hi,

    Was searching for the 1400x1050 settings also, because setting grub to 1280x1024 (image size) didn't display correctly, and came across this post on the gentoo forum: http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-333300.html

    Where it lists the respective codes for 1400x1050 vga are 834 (16 bit), 835 (24 bit) and 836 (32 bit). I'm using 835 and it's working great (IBM t43 and grub).

    Regards,

    Cypr3ss.

Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •