Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How do I compile a kernel (Linux Newb)

Beans

How do I compile a kernel (Linux Newb)

Hi, I am fairly new to Linux and I love Ubuntu. I want to recompile my kernel to get my system running faster, but I have no idea where to begin. Can someone please write out some directions for me? Thanks.

Dell Latitude Cpx H 500 mhz PIII (non-speedstep)
    448 MB PC 100 RAM
    30 GB HDD
    ATI Mobility 8 MB AGP 2x
    ESS Maestro 2E

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: How do I compile a kernel (Linux Newb)

Open a terminal.

sudo apt-get install build-essential linux-source-2.6 libncurses5-dev kernel-package

cd /usr/src
    tar xvjf linux-source*
    cd linux-source
    cp /boot/config-2.6.10.5-386 .config
    sudo make menuconfig

cofigure the heck out of your kernel

sudo make-kpkg --revision-1 --append-to-version=mykerne1 kernel_image kernel_headers

cd ..
    sudo dpkg -i linux-image-2.6.10*.deb

Seriously, this probably will not make your system go any faster.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Quote Originally Posted by SolidStClair
    I want to recompile my kernel to get my system running faster,
    That is quite a misconception.... I have a i386 and athlon-k7 optimized kernel on my system, and am using an AMD64. I cannot measure or feel any difference in speed.
    Quote Originally Posted by tuxradar
    Linux's audio architecture is more like the layers of the Earth's crust than the network model, with lower levels occasionally erupting on to the surface, causing confusion and distress, and upper layers moving to displace the underlying technology that was originally hidden

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by jdong
    That is quite a misconception.... I have a i386 and athlon-k7 optimized kernel on my system, and am using an AMD64. I cannot measure or feel any difference in speed.