Thread: Health informatics: Which language/script should I learn?

Beans

Thumbs up Health informatics: Which language/script should I learn?

Hi everyone, I need some advice that will be constructive in shaping my career. I have zero programming experience, but am interested in health informatics. My strong area is designing websites in HTML, but I lack java, php or perl skills.

I'll enroll in a masters degree in Health Informatics next year. I understand that I will not be required to program much, but it'll be my leadership skills that will play more important role. Still I want to learn at least one programming or scripting language that will enable me to make web-based applications/applets/systems? Can someone tell me which programming/scripting language will be most beneficial to me?

(I have a mac and an ubuntu box at home, but no PC.)
    Photography by Indians
    I'm registered Linux User # 406032

Beans

Re: Health informatics: Which language/script should I learn?

Quote Originally Posted by anil_robo View Post
    Hi everyone, I need some advice that will be constructive in shaping my career. I have zero programming experience, but am interested in health informatics. My strong area is designing websites in HTML, but I lack java, php or perl skills.

I'll enroll in a masters degree in Health Informatics next year. I understand that I will not be required to program much, but it'll be my leadership skills that will play more important role. Still I want to learn at least one programming or scripting language that will enable me to make web-based applications/applets/systems? Can someone tell me which programming/scripting language will be most beneficial to me?

(I have a mac and an ubuntu box at home, but no PC.)
    I imagine you would get a lot of mileage out of Python, or Perl.

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by grte View Post
    I imagine you would get a lot of mileage out of Python, or Perl.