Page 5 of 25 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 250

Thread: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    6

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    having problems half way through step 4 of the instructions. i get to the part before it says "sudo mount -a", but when i run this command it says "mount: mount point /chroot/media/cdrom0 does not exist". i have looked in the /chroot/media folder but there is nothing in there. have i forgot to do something?

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Beans
    28

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    Quote Originally Posted by Daz_Man
    having problems half way through step 4 of the instructions. i get to the part before it says "sudo mount -a", but when i run this command it says "mount: mount point /chroot/media/cdrom0 does not exist". i have looked in the /chroot/media folder but there is nothing in there. have i forgot to do something?
    comment out the line in /etc/fstab for /chroot/media/cdrom0 then.

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Beans
    28

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    Quote Originally Posted by St-Ex
    I'll have a go myself...


    EDIT:

    No luck... How did you get it to work?
    Thx.
    I installed mplayer via synaptic32 (read using the dochroot bit). I tested in dchroot -d before making the symlinks. if you run mplayer via comandline in dchroot -d what kind of errors do you get?

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    3rd planet out from Sol.
    Beans
    23
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    Quote Originally Posted by Crad
    To get Firefox setup with Flash I did the following:

    • ...some other stuff about chroots...
    • sudo ln -s /usr/lib/libesd.so.0 /usr/lib/libesd.so.1
    • ...more clipped stuff regarding chroots...
    Thanks! You are awesome. I have been looking for that nugget of knowledge. I have not had sound working in my Hoary Firefox and Flashplayer at all until now. I had given up on it for a while, even. I am just running Hoary 32bit for now but have an AMD64 and was poking in here for tips on 32bit app support before I dive in.

    I get sound in Firefox now! What a nice surprise!

    Peace,
    Tim

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Ciudad Juárez
    Beans
    13
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    First of all: THANK YOU! It's really very helpfull and thanks to you I can now view flash animations on my Ubuntu64.

    My only remark is that I can have both version of Firefox working at the same time: it won't work if I make a Gnome launcher, but if I launch firefox32 from the shell, a new window of firefox32 appears, even if firefox64 is already runing

    My next problem is for the sound... But I have already problems on my 64bits system, so I'm not sure I have any chance to have it to work in the chroot... Nobody spoke of OSS... Did somebody already try with it?
    Last edited by Ephack; April 23rd, 2005 at 10:54 PM.

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Galatina, LE - Italy
    Beans
    15
    Distro
    Kubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    Hi to all,

    this is my first message in the Ubuntu Forums after my registration.
    I've a suggestion for this excellent HOWTO.
    I think that it may be useful to add the following line in the /etc/fstab

    /usr/share/fonts /chroot/usr/share/fonts none bind 0 0

    so that fonts from the 64 bit environment become available to the 32 bit chrooted environment. My 32 bit Firefox won't list all the fonts on my system before.
    I hope this can be useful to someone.
    Bye

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Beans
    9

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    this is somewhat of an addition to amarra's post. i'm trying to use some Windows apps with cxoffice in a 32bit chroot. the apps themselves run fine, but the fonts i have installed in the 64bit userspace don't show up. that makes perfect sense, but i can't figure out how to get the fonts installed in the 32bit chroot. has anyone gotten this working or even have some suggestions on getting it working?

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Beans
    61

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    Thanks Crad and everyone else that helped with this thread. I have updated the Cedega/Ubuntu Wiki page with all the modified details from this thread and the previous Wiki page.

    http://digital-conquest.ath.cx/wiki/index.php/Ubuntu

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Beans
    22

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    Thanks for the guide. It's very clear and straightforward. However, I couldn't get the Flash plugin working in firefox32. I visited one site that required the plugin, made the automatic firefox plugin install, and when the page reloaded, the plugin was still missing.

    I have also tried to restart the browser and every time the installation ended apparently successfully, but it never appeared.

    Any tips for me?

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    San Francisco, US
    Beans
    139
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    See my earlier post (page 3 I think). Basically, I'd recommend starting it from a console and seeing what error message you get:




    I tried this, and I have verified that I have the 32bit version of firefox running, but I get the following message:

    LoadPlugin: failed to initialize shared library /home/mthaddon/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so [libXmu.so.6: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory]

    I've checked that the file exists:

    ls -l /home/mthaddon/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so
    -rwxr-xr-x 1 mthaddon mthaddon 2096844 2004-05-20 07:34 /home/mthaddon/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so

    Any idea what's happening here?


    ---------------------------------

    Resolution:

    Found out I needed to install libxmu6 - fixed the problem. Now have 32bit firefox version running nicely.

    Thanks, Tom
    Dell Inspiron 1420n running Hardy i386.

Page 5 of 25 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •