Page 10 of 25 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 250

Thread: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

  1. #91
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    1

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    Hey I found this thread hoping to answer my questions, but havn't quite got it. Now I'm wondering if you can answer them for me.

    I'm trying to set up a webserver, in which my mates can host their own websites. So I want to setup a user for them, so they can logon remotely via ssh, and have their website hosted in their home directory. But want I don't want them to be able to access the rest of the system. Even though I know they can't do anything because they wont have root permissions, I just want them to be able to access their home folder, and just their home folder. I thought I could do this my chrooting their user, can anyone expand on this, help me out, or point me in the right direction? Thanks in advance for any hints and tips.

  2. #92
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    1

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    For me it was necesarry to add non-network local to the access control list
    of X (i use debian amd64/testing/unstable btw)

    Add the following:

    * #!/bin/sh
    * xhost + local:
    * /usr/bin/dchroot -d "`echo $0 | sed 's|^.*/||'` $*"

  3. #93
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    65

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    Has anyone gotten the acrobat reader plugin to work with the chroot 32-bit firefox?

    I've installed the plugin, and it shows up with "aboutlugins", but when I click on a link to a pdf file I just get a blank window.

    Anyone do this successfully? Any tips/tricks?

    Thanks!

  4. #94
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Lecce, Italy
    Beans
    6,168
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    Quote Originally Posted by greyhound4334
    Has anyone gotten the acrobat reader plugin to work with the chroot 32-bit firefox?

    I've installed the plugin, and it shows up with "aboutlugins", but when I click on a link to a pdf file I just get a blank window.

    Anyone do this successfully? Any tips/tricks?

    Thanks!
    It worked great for me. I installed it in (the chrooted) Synaptic.

  5. #95
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    141
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    I'm trying to install something on Wine but I can't see any files on the CD in my 32 bit environment.

  6. #96
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Beans
    3

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    well as you can see this is my first post here. i'm loving this distro / community because through you guys i actually have my ati card working lol. i'm trying to set up the 32 bit environment as per this guide.. but i'm getting these errors.




    Errors were encountered while processing:
    postfix
    at
    mailx
    mutt
    postfix-tls
    ubuntu-base
    E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
    jimbo@ubuntu:~$ sudo ln -s /usr/sbin/synaptic /usr/sbin/synaptic32
    jimbo@ubuntu:~$ exit
    exit
    jimbo@ubuntu:~$ sudo ln -s /usr/local/bin/do_dchroot /usr/local/bin/synaptic32
    jimbo@ubuntu:~$ sudo synaptic32
    (hoary) synaptic32

    (synaptic32:28009): Gtk-CRITICAL **: gtk_tree_view_unref_tree_helper: assertion `node != NULL' failed

    any help would be appreciated, i'm all aquiver at the idea of finally being able to leave behind windows. if i can get this 32 bit setup.. set up, then wow working.. i wouldn't need windows for anything anymore

  7. #97
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Beans
    1

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    I get this massage and it's starting to irritate me


    Code:
    $ sudo apt-get install synaptic
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree... Done
    Package synaptic is not available, but is referred to by another package.
    This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
    is only available from another source
    E: Package synaptic has no installation candidate

  8. #98
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Aalborg, denmark
    Beans
    10

    Re: HOWTO: 32-Bit Chroot on 64-Bit Installs

    instead of:

    Code:
    # sudo cp /etc/passwd /chroot/etc/
    # sudo cp /etc/shadow /chroot/etc/
    # sudo cp /etc/group /chroot/etc/
    # sudo cp /etc/sudoers /chroot/etc/
    # sudo cp /etc/hosts /chroot/etc/
    you can use:
    Code:
    # sudo mount --bind  /etc/passwd /chroot/etc/passwd
    # sudo touch /chroot/etc/shadow
    # sudo mount --bind /etc/shadow /chroot/etc/shadow
    # sudo mount --bind /etc/group /chroot/etc/group
    # sudo mount --bind /etc/sudoers /chroot/etc/sudoers
    # sudo mount --bind /etc/hosts /chroot/etc/hosts
    with the appropriate entries in /etc/fstab of course.

    then changes from the 64bit host system will be propagated to the 32bit chroot.

    And for installing debian sid in the chroot:
    # debootstrap --arch i386 sid /chroot <url-to-local-debian-mirror>

    hope this helps

  9. #99
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Ciudad Juárez
    Beans
    13
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.10 Edgy

    Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    [QUOTE=tear]I get this massage and it's starting to irritate me

    Hello Tear!
    Perhaps you should re-do steps 2 and 3. Seems as if you did'nt update apt.

  10. #100
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    New York
    Beans
    166
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Thumbs up Re: 32-Bit Chroot How-To

    I firstly want to thank you all for making a fantastic guide to setting up this hybrid.

    To reward those whose efforts contributed to troubleshooting this firefox32 install, I have a simple trick to get sound working in Flash, provided you followed the first post's steps to set it up.

    Close Firefox first, then from terminal (root or chroot doesn't matter) type:

    killall esd

    Start firefox32 from chroot, and voila! SOUND is back!

Page 10 of 25 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •