Page 15 of 16 FirstFirst ... 513141516 LastLast
Results 141 to 150 of 151

Thread: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

  1. #141
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    9

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    I fixed my problem. I have my domain running I think. The problem is I cannot browse to the my internal site via the new domain name.

    Here are the results of the tests:

    Code:
    ja@x:/etc/apache2$ ping x.local
    PING x.local (127.0.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from x.local (127.0.1.1): icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.014 ms
    64 bytes from x.local (127.0.1.1): icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.012 ms
    64 bytes from x.local (127.0.1.1): icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.012 ms
    64 bytes from x.local (127.0.1.1): icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.013 ms
    ^C
    --- x.local ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 2998ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.012/0.012/0.014/0.004 ms
    ja@x:/etc/apache2$ dig x.local
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.7.0-P1 <<>> x.local
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 64267
    ;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;x.local.                     IN      A
    
    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    x.local.              38400   IN      SOA     ns1.x.local. admin.x.local. 2010011001 28800 3600 604800 38400
    
    ja@xserv:/etc/apache2$ dig -x 127.0.0.1
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.7.0-P1 <<>> -x 127.0.0.1
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 64924
    ;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 2
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;1.0.0.127.in-addr.arpa.                IN      PTR
    
    ;; ANSWER SECTION:
    1.0.0.127.in-addr.arpa. 604800  IN      PTR     localhost.
    
    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    127.in-addr.arpa.       604800  IN      NS      localhost.
    
    ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
    localhost.              604800  IN      A       127.0.0.1
    localhost.              604800  IN      AAAA    ::1
    
    ;; Query time: 0 msec
    ;; SERVER: 192.168.2.20#53(192.168.2.20)
    ;; WHEN: Mon Jan 10 20:43:47 2011
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 121
    
    ja@xserv:/etc/bind$ named-checkzone x.local /etc/bind/zones/x.local.db
    /etc/bind/zones/x.local.db:1: no TTL specified; using SOA MINTTL instead
    zone x.local/IN: loaded serial 2010011001
    OK
    It seems as though I have everything configured correctly, yet I still cannot browse to the site I have hosted off of the nameserver 192.168.2.20. The router ip is 192.168.2.1.

    Here are my files:

    named.conf.local
    Code:
    //
    // Do any local configuration here
    //
    
    // Consider adding the 1918 zones here, if they are not used in your
    // organization
    //include "/etc/bind/zones.rfc1918";
    
    # This is the zone definition. replace example.com with your domain name
    zone "x.local" {
            type master;
            file "/etc/bind/zones/x.local.db";
            };
    
    
    zone "2.168.192.in-addr.arpa" {
         type master;
         file "/etc/bind/zones/rev.2.168.192.in-addr.arpa";
    named.conf.options
    Code:
    options {
            directory "/var/cache/bind";
    
            // If there is a firewall between you and nameservers you want
            // to talk to, you may need to fix the firewall to allow multiple
            // ports to talk.  See http://www.kb.cert.org/vuls/id/800113
    
            // If your ISP provided one or more IP addresses for stable
            // nameservers, you probably want to use them as forwarders.
            // Uncomment the following block, and insert the addresses replacing
            // the all-0's placeholder.
    
               forwarders {
                    192.168.2.1;
               };
    
            auth-nxdomain no;    # conform to RFC1035
            listen-on-v6 { any; };
    };
    x.local.db
    Code:
    x.local.      IN      SOA     ns1.x.local. admin.x.local. (
    
                                                            2010011001
                                                            28800
                                                            3600
                                                            604800
                                                            38400
     );
    
    
    
    
    
    x.local.        IN      NS      ns1.x.local.
    www              IN      A       192.168.2.20
    ns1                IN      A       192.168.2.20
    *                   IN      A       192.168.2.20
    rev.2.168.192.in-addr.arpa
    Code:
    @ IN SOA ns1.x.local. admin.x.local. (
                            2010011001;
                            28800;
                            604800;
                            604800;
                            86400
    )
    
                          IN    NS     ns1.x.local.
    20                    IN    PTR    x.local
    resolv.conf
    Code:
    search x.local
    nameserver 192.168.2.20
    Any help would be greatly appreciated. I can't seem to figure out what I am doing wrong.

    Edit: I can browse to the site by putting in the ip address of the nameserver/webhost into my browser.
    Last edited by rededit; January 11th, 2011 at 03:59 AM.

  2. #142
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Beans
    1

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    when i try to start bind it says bind9 rmdc:connect failed :127.0.0.1#953: connection refused

    where do i start looking to trouble shoot this? any help is much appreciated

    thanks!

  3. #143
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    57

    Question Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    Hi,

    Sorry to be resurrecting a dead thread here, but I cannot get it to work. I cannot resolve my own machine's hostname!

    Here are my files:

    Quote Originally Posted by named.conf.local
    zone "communicate.local" {
    type master;
    file "/etc/bind/zones/communicate.local.db";
    };

    zone "0.168.192.in-addr.arpa" {
    type master;
    file "/etc/bind/zones/rev.0.168.192.in-addr.arpa";
    };
    Quote Originally Posted by named.conf.options
    options {
    directory "/var/cache/bind";
    forwarders {
    192.168.0.1;
    };
    auth-nxdomain no;
    listen-on-v6 { any; };
    };
    Quote Originally Posted by communicate.local.db
    communicate.local. IN SOA zeus.communicate.local. admin.communicate.local. (
    2006081401
    28800
    3600
    604800
    38400
    )
    communicate.local. IN NS zeus.communicate.local.
    * IN A 192.168.0.2
    zeus IN A 192.168.0.2
    Quote Originally Posted by rev.0.168.192.in-addr.arpa
    @ IN SOA zeus.communicate.local. admin.communicate.local. (
    2006081401;
    28800;
    604800;
    604800;
    86400
    )

    IN NS zeus.communicate.local.
    2 IN PTR communicate.local
    2 IN PTR zeus.communicate.local
    Quote Originally Posted by resolv.conf
    nameserver 192.168.0.2
    domain communicate.local
    search communicate.local
    bind9 starts fine, but when I try nslookup zeus 192.168.0.2, I get:

    Server: 192.168.0.2
    Address: 192.168.0.2#53

    ** server can't find zeus: NXDOMAIN
    If anybody knows what could be causing my problem, I would appreciate it if you could let me know. By the way, this happens whether I run the nslookup from the zeus itself (the DNS server) or another machine on the network.

    Thanks in advance for your help,
    Grakul

  4. #144
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    57

    Talking Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    Nevermind. I fixed it. I ran the following command:

    Code:
    named-checkzone example.com /etc/bind/db.example.com
    It basically gave errors on each of the comment lines. I removed all the comments, after which the above line reported "OK."

    I restarted bind and was able to resolve zeus and ping communicate.local.

    Now to find out how to get my DHCP server to automatically update DNS for the clients....

    Cheers
    Grakul

  5. #145
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Beans
    1

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    nice tutorial ! a want to try this !
    thank's

  6. #146
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Beans
    1

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    so good~

  7. #147
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    9

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    how to an other domain created with this domain

  8. #148
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Kentwood, Michigan
    Beans
    47
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    How would I go about setting up a CNAME record.

    Directing users of the DNS Server from:

    www.example.com to www.other.com

    I cannot use an A record because the ip address that www.other.com is dynamic and not static.


    *Note - www.example.com and www.other.com are just examples.

    Thank you.

  9. #149
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Beans
    233
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    Very good tutorials, still having issues, I'm using a live example here and just can't get it to work, here's my configuration so far:

    I'm going to use mydomain.com as my domain name here

    named.conf.local

    Code:
    //
    // Do any local configuration here
    //
    
    // Consider adding the 1918 zones here, if they are not used in your
    // organization
    //include "/etc/bind/zones.rfc1918";
    
    zone "mydomain.com" {
    	type master;
    	file "/etc/bind/db.mydomain.com";
    };
    
    # This is the zone definition for reverse DNS. replace 0.168.192 with your network address in reverse notation - e.g my network address is 192.168.0
    zone "201.168.192.in-addr.arpa" {
        	type master;
         	file "/etc/bind/rev.201.168.192.in-addr.arpa";
    };
    db.mydomain.com

    Code:
    ;
    ; BIND data file for mydomain.com
    ;
    $TTL	604800
    mydomain.com.	IN	SOA	ns1.mydomain.com. admin.mydomain.com. (
    	84739	; Serial
    	604800	; Refresh
    	86400	; Retry
    	2419200	; Expire
    	604800 ); Negative Cache TTL
    ;
    mydomain.com.			IN	NS	ns1.mydomain.com.
    mydomain.com.	86400	IN	NS	ns2.mydomain.com.
    localhost		14400	IN	A	127.0.0.1
    ns1				14400	IN	A	<external server IP>
    ns2				14400	IN	A	<external server IP>
    @	IN	A	127.0.0.1
    @	IN	AAAA	::1
    Any help would be appreciated.
    The quieter you become, the more you can hear

  10. #150
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: Howto: Setup a DNS server with bind

    That does not works for me. The file 'example.com.db' contains:
    Code:
    example.com.      IN      SOA     ns1.example.com. admin.example.com. (
                                                            2006081401
                                                            28800
                                                            3600
                                                            604800
                                                            38400
     )
    
    
    example.com. IN NS ns1.example.com.
    example.com. IN MX 10 mail.example.com.
    
    
    www     IN      A       ***.***.***.***
    mail    IN      A       ***.***.***.***
    ns1     IN      A       ***.***.***.***
    and here is result of named-checkzone:
    Code:
    # named-checkzone example.com example.com.db
    example.com.db:1: no TTL specified; using SOA MINTTL instead
    zone example.com/IN: loaded serial 2006081401
    OK
    But dig resolve successfully! What is wrong?
    Last edited by subco; September 12th, 2013 at 01:06 PM.

Page 15 of 16 FirstFirst ... 513141516 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •