Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gamer switching to Linux

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Question Gamer switching to Linux

Hi, I'm brand new to Linux, at least as a daily driver. I used it in the 11.04 days and got pretty good with
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install package-name-thingy
    but that's really it.

The one issue that's really making me a little uneasy about this switch is compatibility with games. I own 25 games but only 12 are able to run natively, and one runs very well in Wine (so I hear). Of course the other 13 games that do NOT work in Linux with Wine or native support are the ones I play most often, such as GTA V, Payday 2, and Skyrim.

Any tips or tricks would be appreciated

PaulW2U is offline I Ubuntu, Therefore, I Am
    Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

Re: Gamer switching to Linux

Thread moved to Gaming & Leisure.

Please give us some further information about the particular problems that you're experiencing.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

I'm just a bit uneasy with the fact that my games aren't natively supported and I have to dual boot, was wondering if anyone had any tips or tricks regarding running games. I think I read somewhere about VMs and VT-d and getting native performance in a VM, is that legit?

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu

You're not getting native support in a VM, at least not on Linux. You'd essentially be running a Windows machine inside of Linux, and that can create problems for performance since you aren't taking full advantage of your hardware.