Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: very, very new to programming. need help

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

very, very new to programming. need help

I am a beginner when it comes to programming, and I am currently attempting to learn Java. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I should do or where i should start? I have everything i need already (JDK/JRE, Compiler) to run my script. Im a little lost at the moment with how to "practice" and learn. What should i be doing?
    Avoid the Gates of hell. Use Linux.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: very, very new to programming. need help

Quote Originally Posted by sypher2 View Post
    I am a beginner when it comes to programming, and I am currently attempting to learn Java. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I should do or where i should start? I have everything i need already (JDK/JRE, Compiler) to run my script. Im a little lost at the moment with how to "practice" and learn. What should i be doing?
    Programming... this is how you learn. Make mistakes, see how others solved the same problem (read their code), ask questions... To get started find small exercise programs, then find things you would like to do and code them.
    Warning: unless noted otherwise, code in my posts should be understood as "coding suggestions", and its use may require more neurones than the two necessary for Ctrl-C/Ctrl-V.

Beans
    Distro

Quote Originally Posted by ofnuts View Post
    Programming... this is how you learn. Make mistakes, see how others solved the same problem (read their code), ask questions... To get started find small exercise programs, then find things you would like to do and code them.
    where can i find small excercise programs? i know a little bit of java, and a little bit of python.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

http://learnpythonthehardway.org/book/

There is the same site for Java, but only the first chapters are available online for free.