Thread: Which Programming Language should I learn for making softwares for LINUX?

Beans

Exclamation Which Programming Language should I learn for making softwares for LINUX?

Hi,
    I have been learning SHELL SCRIPTING since 3 months, and I will soon learn the advanced shell scripting.
    I also have the knowledge of Java Core.
    But I wanted to know, which programming language should I learn which will help me to write Programs after I get job in any company. I read in few threads that C++ and Python are good.
    My queries are:
    1) Which programming language should I go for first, C++ OR Python OR something you experts may suggest?
    2) I wish to make GUI apps (front and backend BOTH), the same what is ASP.NET in Windows, so which books should I refer (the issue is that it should be available in India too)
    3) Are there "playlists" available for the course I want to learn? (If yes, please give me the link)

I hope I was clear with my ques, please give me a detailed answer, in not very technical terms, since I am just a student who wants to learn.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Qt

Quote Originally Posted by sarang3 View Post
    2) I wish to make GUI apps
    Qt will make that a lot easier. It is cross-platform and used by many major applications. It is in the repository and it uses C++ but there are bindings for Python as well as a few other languages.

Beans

Re: Which Programming Language should I learn for making softwares for LINUX?

Sir, Last question,
    Is there any difference between QT C++ programming for WINDOWS AND LINUX?
    Like, for Linux the structure of the program or writing style of the program will change, in comparison to Windows?
    I have got a playlist in youtube. The guy performed the programming in Windows.
    Will it be same for Linux?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Sir, Last question,
    Is there any difference between QT C++ programming for WINDOWS AND LINUX?