Thread: Custom/changing syntax highlighting in Gedit

Beans

Custom/changing syntax highlighting in Gedit

Hi ladies and Gents,

I'm relatively new to programming and am at the hobby stage (Just completed the Python & Ruby codecademy courses) and have now signed up for an evening 'going beyond basics' python class. I really enjoy it, but the teacher of the course is very strict about not using IDE's at this stage. I have to use Gedit to write my code, which is fine, and we're encouraged to use syntax highlighting, but I really want to customise the colour scheme - too many things share the same few colours on all of the themes I've tried.

I know there are lots of python plug-ins for Gedit from googling the subject, but as I say we can't use those yet. It must be something simple I'm missing, but I just can't see it!

I suppose we can use another editor if you know one - the guys with macs use a different editor - but it can't help us any more than syntax highlighting?

Thanks all!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Custom/changing syntax highlighting in Gedit