Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cronjobs sending email - strange result when run on schedule | on-demand is alright

Beans

Cronjobs sending email - strange result when run on schedule | on-demand is alright

Hey all,

I am kinda new to Cron jobs. I thought it was a nice way to automate a few things,
    Using Webmin, I created 2 cronjobs to automate tripwire & chkrootkit checks. I wanted to add more but I am running into issues that I don't understand.

The commands I am running are:
    @daily chkrootkit | mail -s "ChkRootkit report for `uname -n`" myemail@domain.com #somecomment
    @daily tripwire --check | mail -s "Tripwirereport for `uname -n`" myemail@domain.com #some comment

Right now I've set them both to run daily at 00:00 AM, every day(testing purposes).

When I hit "Run now", I receive an email, with the expected report/result/output,

When I wait for it to run as scheduled, I receive an email, without any text in the body.
    The subject is alright, but the body is empty.

Can anyone help me out here?

The OS is Ubuntu Server 14.04.2,
    Tools used are both CLI/Terminal and Webmin.
    Kind regards,
    Frank

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Cronjobs sending email - strange result when run on schedule | on-demand is alrig

cron doesn't get much environment, so things that your login sets up doesn't exist under cron. You have to set everything you expect in the environment, if you want it. For example, the PATH, LD_LIBRARY_PATH are minimal under cron.

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...-a-script-with explains how to see the environment cron provides.

Hence, there are some best practices for shell scripting.
    * Always specify the complete, full, path to all programs you want run.
    * Never parse the output from ls, avoid using simple grep and cat - cat is almost never needed.
    * For cron entries, create a shell script to put any multi-command commands into 1 file for cron to call.
    * noclobber