Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sharing music between Win 8, Ubuntu

Beans

Question Sharing music between Win 8, Ubuntu

Hi folks,
    Noob here. My machine dual boots Ubuntu and Win 8, and I'd like to be able to share music between the two. The primary goal is to be able to run playlists in Clementine and iTunes from the one directory.

I've seen a few methods to do this with the best appearing to be the creation of a third partition that could be access by both. I'm acutely aware that this would have been answered many times - which is ironically the problem, since I do not know which option is the most reliable or appropriate. I've followed instructions before only to create a mess I lacked the experience to untangle.

The methods to create that partition vary and I'm weary of messing things up.

So what do you experienced folks recommend (short of dumping win )? A shared partition would be useful to share other files, photos and so forth. I'll be pretty much always using Ubuntu, with Win there for other users.

A link or instructions that don't assume knowledge would be perfect.

My drive is around 1tb.
    Here's a GParted screen shot.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: Sharing music between Win 8, Ubuntu

/dev/sda4 is the windows partition with music right? Or you want to shrink your /dev/sda5 linux partition and create another partition?

If you go on the first route, just Open clementine and point the player to import music from the mounted windows partition. That should be enough. But then the only problem is auto mounting. Since once you reboot and the partition is not automatically mounted, you can't play your files.

We can setup automouting of the /dev/sda4 partition if you like.

Beans

Thanks Nerdtron!
    I'm guessing it's probably easier to dump my music, vids, and so on on the Windows partition. So how should I automount?
    Thanks!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr