Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: First-time Wi-Fi setup

Beans

First-time Wi-Fi setup

Hi,
    I'm completely new to any form of Linux whatsoever and so I've installed Xubuntu, and I can't seem to get the wireless working. I'm using a Belkin Play Wireless USB Adapter.
    Following chapter 7 of the documentation tells me:
    "If you are connecting to a wireless network for the first time, security details may be needed. If so, a dialog box will open. In most cases, the security type will be detected automatically. If not, select the security type from the Wi-Fi Security drop-down box, enter the authentication details and press Connect."

Yet I can't seem to see a connect button of any sort. Moving on to the troubleshooting section I'm told to click the NetworkManager icon and check "enable wi-fi", but no such option exists either. :S

Wat do?
    Last edited by sandyd; January 16th, 2015 at 08:55 AM. Reason: formating

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: First-time Wi-Fi setup

Your adapter may not be compatible "out of the box". So, you can go to Belkin's website and see if any drivers offered for Linux . . . OR . . . you can purchase an inexpensive but known compatible adapter.

See this thread for a similar situation and note the last post: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2259513

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Quote Originally Posted by James_McAuliffe View Post
    ...I'm using a Belkin Play Wireless USB Adapter....
    Hi James_McAuliffe and welcome to Linux, Xubuntu and the forums.

Please don't double post as it dilutes efforts to help (we helpers end up chasing too many rabbits). If you don't get a response after 24 hrs, just bump the old thread to top of page.

Let's assume the simple things first and only move on to more complex if needed: