Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: PIDA install new version 0.3.1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    418

    PIDA install new version 0.3.1

    Hi all,
    I am trying to install pida, and since a really old version is in the repos, I am trying to install the pida_0.3.2-3_all.deb But when I try to, it says I need Python-central, which isn't even a package, but I looked around and saw that all it is, is

    • python2.3 (>= 2.3.5-14)
    • python-doc
    • python-profiler
    • python-tk


    And I have all of that, but when I open the Deb file it always says Error: Dependancy not satisfiable: python-centrel. I have also tried doing it manually through the terminal witk dpkg. But I can't get it. I have tried a lot of different mirrors as well. Anyone know how to install pida 0.3.1? THANKS!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    418

    Re: PIDA install new version 0.3.1

    Does anyone know how to install the latest version of PIDA?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    418

    Re: PIDA install new version 0.3.1

    Okay, I managed to install it from source and it runs fine, now do I need the folder that contained the install files, or will that mess it up if I delete it?

    UPDATE: Yup... I can, and I did. Ciao.
    Last edited by GStubbs43; July 31st, 2006 at 04:54 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    27
    Distro
    Xubuntu 6.06

    Re: PIDA install new version 0.3.1

    Great, care to share your experience?

    I'd like to get latest pida running here too

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    27
    Distro
    Xubuntu 6.06

    Exclamation Re: PIDA install new version 0.3.1

    For anyone who also want's to know.
    Pida 0.3.1 is on the testing branch of debian. If you try to use the deb the testing provides you'll need to cover alot of dependencies.

    Try this at your own risk!!!
    Don't make me responsible for ANY damage caused to your system.


    So, until it reaches (X/K/ED)ubuntu, here's a hackish way:
    Code:
     sudo apt-get install pida
     sudo rm -rf /usr/lib/site-python/pida/
     wget http://download.berlios.de/pida/pida-0.3.1.tar.gz
     tar zxvf pida-0.3.1.tar.gz
     cd pida-0.3.1
     sudo apt-get python2.4-setuptools
     sudo python setup.py install
    And that's it!

    P.S.: You'll probably want some other packages installed, you decide.
    Last edited by s0undt3ch; August 13th, 2006 at 03:41 AM. Reason: Minor Corrections/Additions
    s0undt3ch
    [ AMD Athlon @ 1GHz / 768 RAM on Debian ................. [SERVER] ]
    [ P4 @ 2.8 GHz / 1Gig Ram on Kubuntu ........................ [Desktop] ]
    [ LG P1 Pro Express Dual DualCore @ 1.8Ghz / 4Gig Ram [Laptop] ]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    527
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Re: PIDA install new version 0.3.1

    You could just install from source. Like I did. Its not that hard. Go to their site download the source cd to the directory, then type.
    Code:
    sudo python ./setup.py install
    and it installs

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    27
    Distro
    Xubuntu 6.06

    Re: PIDA install new version 0.3.1

    Quote Originally Posted by Note360 View Post
    You could just install from source. Like I did. Its not that hard. Go to their site download the source cd to the directory, then type.
    Code:
    sudo python ./setup.py install
    and it installs
    That's what I did above, but I installed Xubuntu's Pida first to be able to have a menu entry and icons with no fuss, then I overrrided the "heart" of pida.
    s0undt3ch
    [ AMD Athlon @ 1GHz / 768 RAM on Debian ................. [SERVER] ]
    [ P4 @ 2.8 GHz / 1Gig Ram on Kubuntu ........................ [Desktop] ]
    [ LG P1 Pro Express Dual DualCore @ 1.8Ghz / 4Gig Ram [Laptop] ]

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    5

    Re: PIDA install new version 0.3.1

    That's what I did above, but I installed Xubuntu's Pida first to be able to have a menu entry and icons with no fuss, then I overrrided the "heart" of pida.
    Hi,

    Could you explain what you mean by this? Is there a problem with icons? and what is a menu entry? Are we talking about desktop manager stuff?

    In general, I would not advise attempting to override pida 0.2.* with pida 0.3.* because the "heart" changed a fair bit. A clean install is the way to go, as there will not be any unexpected namespace clashing. Of course, if it works, great!

    More good news is that pida 0.3.1 is in Edgy.

    Thanks,

    Ali (PIDA Author)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Beans
    27
    Distro
    Xubuntu 6.06

    Re: PIDA install new version 0.3.1

    Quote Originally Posted by aafshar View Post
    Hi,

    Could you explain what you mean by this? Is there a problem with icons? and what is a menu entry? Are we talking about desktop manager stuff?
    There's no problem, and yes we're talking about the desktop manager. The thing is, if we do an install from source, we won't get menu entries nor icons for that matter for our desktop manager.

    Quote Originally Posted by aafshar View Post
    In general, I would not advise attempting to override pida 0.2.* with pida 0.3.* because the "heart" changed a fair bit. A clean install is the way to go, as there will not be any unexpected namespace clashing. Of course, if it works, great!
    Well, I did do 2 clean installs, one for 0.2 with an ububtu package, which gives me all desktop manager stuff, then I deleted the heart of that in python's site-packages dir, then I installed 0.3.1 from source, all this to keep desktop manager stuff and aviod a possible namespace clash.

    Quote Originally Posted by aafshar View Post
    More good news is that pida 0.3.1 is in Edgy.
    The bad news is that, it needs some dependencies not in Ubuntu yet

    Oh, and by the way, great work, somethng I was looking for sometime because now I've gotten used to Vim, and want no other
    s0undt3ch
    [ AMD Athlon @ 1GHz / 768 RAM on Debian ................. [SERVER] ]
    [ P4 @ 2.8 GHz / 1Gig Ram on Kubuntu ........................ [Desktop] ]
    [ LG P1 Pro Express Dual DualCore @ 1.8Ghz / 4Gig Ram [Laptop] ]

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •