Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu Server administration

Beans

Ubuntu Server administration

Hello all,

I'm new with all this,
    Before i have server admin who do all this staff like update/upgrade/mysql migration/server migration ...
    right now i want to teach and learn all this staff, and myself administration my linux ubuntu server,
    can you suggest me some tutorials, some first commands, steps which i need to learn ?
    Can you make some little tutorial about basic server opitmization/administration ?
    How optimize apache,nginx,mysql,ffmpeg ...

Thanks.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

Re: Ubuntu Server administration

Moved to the Server Platforms sub-forum

You can start here: https://help.ubuntu.com/14.04/serverguide/index.html

Edit: There's also a PDF version of ^^^ -> https://help.ubuntu.com/14.04/server...erverguide.pdf
    Last edited by slickymaster; December 2nd, 2014 at 10:43 PM. Reason: Added PDF info

Beans

When i install ubuntu first what i do is,

Code:
    sudo apt-get update && apt-get upgrade
    and then

Code:
    sudo apt-get install curl
    and then i install my favorite cp in my case this is vestacp with this cp i get all apache,mysql ... I left out something ?

Thanks.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Actually-- I would recommend reading Mark G. Sobell's "A Practical Guide to Ubuntu Linux". A text like that will teach you Linux, as related to Ubuntu and it's services, both Desktop and Server editions and services. It's hard for me to recommend a beginner to look at the Ubuntu Server Guide and expect them to understand know what them are really doing, what the pieces all do... and how they fit together and work together. If not planned and configured right, well...