Thread: Server won't boot if I unplug the keyboard

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

Server won't boot if I unplug the keyboard

I have an Acer AC100 home server and I've been using it for about 3 years now without any issues. It has Ubuntu 14.04 installed on it which I just reinstalled a couple of months ago. For some reason yesterday I shut it down, started it up again and it doesn't show the GRUB menu, it just beeps like crazy after POST. It beeps really loud and fast forever, it won't stop until I turn the system off again.

I have figured out that I can boot into a Live USB without any problem, I can run Boot Repair, then reboot into the BIOS and choose an option titled Ubuntu from the boot menu. Then the system works fine as often as I want to reboot it, no problems. If I unplug the keyboard, it does the same beeping at boot and I have to run Boot Repair again in order to fix it again. Even if I plug the keyboard back in, it won't boot again until I run Boot Repair. And that Ubuntu option disappears from the BIOS boot menu until I've run Boot Repair again. I can't figure this out, I'm going to try reinstalling 14.04 again now.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tristam Green View Post
    I can tell you something about a turntable.
    I have two of them.
    And a microphone.
    Where it's at.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Server won't boot if I unplug the keyboard

It could be a PSU problem. Check the 5VDC and 12VDC with a voltmeter. Why did you reinstall 14.04 a couple of months ago? 14.04 is pretty stable. What were your initial symptoms that made you reinstall the first time?

It could also be a disk problem. What is the SMART status of the disk:

Code:
    sudo smartctl -a /dev/sda
    -------------------------------------
    Oooh Shiny: PopularPages

Unumquodque potest reparantur. Patientia sit virtus.

Beans

Hi Maheriano