Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What is Ubuntu?

Beans

What is Ubuntu?

Hi. I'm a complete noob with both Virtual Box and Linux. I'm still slightly confused to what Ubunto is. Is Ubunto an ISO for a VM, or can Ubunto be applied as some sort of application to a guest Windows 7 operating system in Virtual Box? The whole reason I'm doing all this is because I want to learn enough about Linux to prepare myself for penetration testing training with Kali Linux without breaking my host operating system.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Re: What is Ubuntu?

Moved to its own thread from here.
    Please read The Forum Rules and The Forum Posting Guidelines

A thing discovered and kept to oneself must be discovered time and again by others. A thing discovered and shared with others need be discovered only the once.
    This universe is crazy. I'm going back to my own.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

So, you have no intention of using Ubuntu. What help did you get from the Kali Linux forums?

Ubuntu is a Linux distribution. It can be installed on to a hard disk. It can be installed into a virtual machine that is running on another OS provided the hardware is capable of running a VM.

Penetration testing in a VM? I am not sure there is any benefit to that. And I do not think this forum supports discussions of penetration testing.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linux_distribution

Regards.
    Last edited by grahammechanical; July 19th, 2014 at 09:38 PM.
    It is a machine. It is more stupid than we are. It will not stop us from doing stupid things.
    Ubuntu user #33,200. Linux user #530,530

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate Development Release

The whole reason I'm doing all this is because I want to learn enough about Linux ...
    Linux is an operating system kernel. Ubuntu is a distribution (often abbreviated as "distro") that contains a Linux kernel, some other middleware, and some applications -- packaged with an installer.