Thread: Creating name servers

Beans

Question Creating name servers

Hi
    I'm a web developer and I want to host DNSes of sites that I develop.
    Let's assume that I have 3 servers in 3 locations.
    after deciding which one I want to be ns1, what should I do?
    I couldn't find a simple solution on the web.
    Let's assume my portfolio is on X.com
    1. I want to point X.com to ns1.X.com [IP1] and ns2.Xcom [IP2] (I believe it's called glue record),
    2. I want a simple gui for dns.X.com, where I could simply enter information of each domain name and the backend, sync the information with IP1 and IP2,
    3. And that's It

Is there any ready to use package or a well written article on creating this kind of thing?

Is Ubuntu the best choice for this matter?

P.S:
    If I have 100 sites and each of them 1000 requests per day, How many BandWidth are we talking about?

Last edited by mhm5000; July 18th, 2014 at 11:53 AM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Creating name servers

Below are my opinions. Others will have different opinions and claim that I'm paranoid and that they've never been hacked. Great. Until you get hacked, it is hard to understand ...

Running a DNS on the internet is fraught with security risks. DNS is hacked all the time and professionals have problems doing it well. They are still failing from time to time. 12 yrs ago, my DNS server was hacked. I've learned to pay a professional to manage DNS servers while I retain management of the records. Look at the security history for DNS to gain a better understanding of why.

Do NOT run DNS and a website on the same machine. That is asking for trouble.