Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: downloaded apps appear in task bar on left of desktop,but no GUI appears

Beans

downloaded apps appear in task bar on left of desktop,but no GUI appears

iinstalled 14.04 today,and been looking forwardto it,however i am finding that none of the apps i have installed load their GUI onto screen.
    they do appear on the left hand task bar. (vlc,deluge torrent handler, transmission torrent handler, and a good few more)
    when i tried to launch deluge,for eg, it appears on task bar,and when i click on it to get the menu, either nothing happoens, or screen darkens in tone as if it were "freezing up".

it also so happens that many things are taking a long time to laod. lots of that little spinning wheel.
    any advice? please keepit simple as i am a total novice with ubuntu yet. i am so keen to get this nOS upand running fully.been looking very forward toit.
    thank you allvery kindly.
    Last edited by Un_Known; June 12th, 2014 at 12:40 PM.

Beans

Re: downloadedapps appear in task bar on left of desktop,but no GUI appears!

a further issue i am having is that,for eg,when i am trying to download a torrent from a torrent link,when i click the link i get the "launch application" dialogue window and guess what,it dosnt show the apps i need,and it is not at all obvious where to find them in there. may just be my lack of ubuntu knowledge,but seems impossible.
    any hints?
    there are a few more related problems, but dont wanna crampo you all,and am very tired.been trying to figure this stuff out all night.

Beans

further info to apps not showing up. when i click their icon,or right click and get menu, the screen fades,and a top bar appears for them (you know,the one with the cross,minus sign,and square to minimize,expand,or close giu etc,but nothing apopears in that faded space.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

The Unity desktop has its quirks; you might want a more traditional one. Try this:
    Code: