Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: what version of ubuntu should i install

Beans

what version of ubuntu should i install

im new to linux, but want to give it a try. but i noticed the 32bit version is up to 2gb of ram. while my pc has about 3 and a quarter gigabytes. this pc is a older 32bit windows xp with what i think is a pentium 4. so should i install 32 and lose 1 and a quarter gigs or get 64. is there any problems or slowdowns with 64 bit linux on a older 32bit machine?

Beans

what version of ubuntu should i install

im new to linux, but want to give it a try. but i noticed the 32bit version is up to 2gb of ram. while my pc has about 3 and a quarter gigabytes. this pc is a older 32bit windows xp with what i think is a pentium 4. so should i install 32 and lose 1 and a quarter gigs or get 64. is there any problems or slowdowns with 64 bit linux on a older 32bit machine?

Beans

Re: what version of ubuntu should i install

32bit version will be fine with up to 4gb of memory, but 64bit will not run on a system that dosn't have a 64bit processor.
    I would give the 32bit a try first. Burn it to a disk or put it on a usb drive if you can boot from there, it will run without you having to install it gives you the option to try before you buy
    Hope that helps

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

I'm using 1.8 GB of ram at the moment with 14.04 64 bit on a Core2 duo system 4GB ram,with chromium browser open (6 tabs).
    I would download the isos for Ubuntu,lubuntu and xubuntu and create bootable usb drives and test them on your system to check compatibility/speed.
    14.10 amd64

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

It really sounds like your computer is 32 bit. With that said I would likely try Lubuntu or Xubuntu. Try either or both of these on a USB stick live and see what works for you after a day or so of each.
    UsingTheTerminal and PopularPages A very handy Documentation Search Tool used by many.