Thread: system requirements

Beans

system requirements

I have been using ubuntu 12.04 LTS and want to try ubuntu 14.04 LTS. Is there any difference in the system requirements? I still use 32 bit versions. My computer has 1 gig RAM, but I'm also installing a friend's computer that only has 500MB RAM... is that a problem? Also, I was told his computer would work better using Gnome 2 instead of unity... can I set this up during install or do it after? I also have ubuntu 10.04 but it's not supported. If I use this older version will I have issues with adding applications with software center (and dependancies)? Should I use another flavour of ubuntu (I have never tried these before)?

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Re: system requirements

Ubuntu 14.04 is slightly lighter than 12.04 but for old hardware Lubuntu 14.04 is a better choice. Please see the link in my signature for more information.

10.04 (desktop) is obsolete and should not be used regardless of hardware.
    Bringing old hardware back to life. About problems due to upgrading.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts.
    Don't use this space for a list of your hardware. It only creates false hits in the search engines.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

I would just like to add that Gnome 2 is no longer being developed by the Gnome organisation. They have switched to Gnome 3 and that is what Ubuntu is built upon. There are some developers who are not connected to Ubuntu that are trying to keep the Gnome 2 user interface style going. As for system requirements

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/In...emRequirements

This, in my opinion, is a key requirement that is often overlooked when comparing system specifications

3D Acceleration Capable Videocard with at least 256 MB