Thread: Dropbox changes files when downloading

Hybrid View

Beans

Post Dropbox changes files when downloading

Hi, i'm new to the Ubuntu community and i encountered something annoying.

I installed dropbox and synced my dropboxaccount (with some shared folders) to a folder (located on another logical NTFS partition so Windows can acces it to). After a while i noticed everytime dropbox downloads a file, the file gets altered and then back uploaded to the shared folder. (peoples i share with where complaining abount constantly updates to files by me) Not a big problem so far because i seems to happen only one time.
    Later that day someone of the people i share with who also runs Ubuntu start syncing with my changes. Now the annoying thing started: his dropbox also altered the files while downloading and uploaded it back to the folder. This resulted in mine dropbox noticing the file was changed, downloading, altering and uploading it again. I think you see the problem over here: dropbox was constanly changing the same files.

I looked a little deeper into it before posting here. With files original from not linux OS it happened once (their dropbox didn't changed the files back). With Linux it kept happening. I also discovered the permission of the files at my pc are different than the permission of the files of the other guy with Ubuntu. So i'm guessing dropbox downloads the file, Ubuntu notices the different permissions, changes them, dropbox notices something on the file has changed and uploads it again. (I can be wrong) I tried to change the permission of my files to the same as the permission of the other Ubuntu person, but Ubuntu didn't let me do this (I'm new to Ubuntu, so i didn't realy found how to fix this). So i don't now if it would work with the same permissions on both sides.