Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Verify that swap is working

Beans

Question Verify that swap is working

I've been running this laptop soundly for several months. I never noticed any activity on the swap partition in System Monitor's resource's tab, htop, etc... I have 8 gigs of memory, so I just kind of figured the swap was never needed/ used, or if it was I just never noticed. Now, I'm beginning to believe that it doesn't work at all. The swap is set to on.

I searched online. Does anyone have any suggestions?
    All help is greatly appriciated.

$ sudo tune2fs -l /dev/sda6

tune2fs 1.42.9 (4-Feb-2014)
    tune2fs: Bad magic number in super-block while trying to open /dev/sda6
    Couldn't find valid filesystem superblock.

Stumped,
    Jason

Beans

Re: I don't believe my swap is working. Please help...

Are you showing us the tune2fs output for your swap partition? afaik swap doesn't use an ext filesystem, so I don't think that's significant - what is the output of

Code:
    swapon -s

free

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Verify that swap is working

It appears you see your swap in your monitoring tools. I guess it will be OK. With 8 GB of RAM, one rarely if ever uses swap during normal desktop usage.

Beans

Question Verify that swap is working/Please give me the results of tune2fs on swap partition.

I done both of these before I posted:
    swapon -s

free

I still get the message: tune2fs: Bad magic number in super-block while trying to open /dev/sda6

Do others get this message when using the tune2fs tool to investigate the partition that swap is on? I'm curious.

sudo tune2fs -l /dev/sda6

Thanks,
    Jason

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release