Thread: Setting up a home server; can't access phpmyadmin or copy files to /var/www

Beans

Setting up a home server; can't access phpmyadmin or copy files to /var/www

Hi Everyone,

I'm pretty new to the whole linux thing and I suddenly find myself in need of a server. Unfortunatly I didn't realize my hosting plan was expiring and I just made some new buisness cards that I started to hand out last week so I now need to host my own site.

I know it's not ideal, slow upload speeds, time etc but I really don't have the extra cash right now to buy hosting so this is what I have to work with. I've actually done this before following a guide I can no longer find and I didn't have any trouble until it came to making my site visible to the outside world. I'll cross that bridge when I get there.

I installed Ubuntu Server Edition 14,04 on an old PC and selected OpenSSH and LAMP during the install.

After I was done the first thing I tried to do was access my server with Putty: Success

Then I typed in my servers IP and made it to the Apache2 Ubuntu default "it works" page.

(Side note: typing localhost instead of my servers IP I get a problem loading page error. Is local host only used when AMP are installed on the machine you are typing localhost from?)

I knew I would need to create a database for my Wordpress site so I installed phpmyadmin. After installation I went to myip/phpmyadmin but I get a 404 error. I tried my best google-fu and tried the command I found on this site: http://tech2view.com/not-able-to-acc...t-found-error/

sudo ln -s /usr/share/phpmyadmin /var/www

Still can't access phpmyadmin