Thread: Unity is for the Birds

Beans

Unity is for the Birds

Alright, before you Unity Fans get all up in arms about some Noob making a coment like this, I have been running Ubuntu since 8.04. I dual boot for some programs that just do not work well running in my Windows V.B. I have clung to my 10.04 since 2010. I keep hearing how great 13.10 and 14.04 are, So I upgraed to 13.10 only to find out the Gnome and Compiz and all the other things I have been using for 6 years doesn't work so well. And after I installed 13.10 and added Gnome then tried to get my compiz working properly, I find out it doesn't work in Gnome on 13.10. Unity should be made into another interface choice likem KDE or Gnome. I never have had any problems with programs working in either of them, so why through this Crappy Unity into my face and tell me I have to like it. What happened, Did Bill Gates buy Ubuntu?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Unity is for the Birds

Thread moved to Ubuntu,Linux and OS Chat
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

The Gnome you used in 10.04 was not a Canonical product. It was a product of the Gnome project, which ceased development of Gnome 2 at least three years ago. If you want to use the same interface, investigate the Mate project, which is a continuation of Gnome 2, with bug fixes and other changes to keep it working in 2014.

If you expect Unity to work as 10.04 worked, you will be frustrated. What you did in 10.04 you can do in Unity. You just may need to do it differently.

ibjsb4 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Beans

Maybe your equipment could also use a upgrade.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Not the first complaint about Unity

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by RRMcMillan View Post