Thread: nVidia TNT2 M64 graphics card, jerky video

Beans

nVidia TNT2 M64 graphics card, jerky video

Yikes! Your concept of an "Absolute Beginner" is in a different league from me, and I can't make head nor tail of the instructions posted to solve my problems. So perhaps you could direct me to some source where I can at least learn your language. And, at its most basic, how do even get to a command line prompt in Lubuntu 14.04?

I have an old HP Pavilion 7955 which had XP on it until I set about replacing it with Lubuntu, (chosen because it purportedly runs well on older machines.) According to the sticker on the front, it has a Pentium-4 processor at 1.5 GHz, 256 Mb of SDRAM (but when I run the memory test which was included in the installation download, it says that the L1 cache is 8K, L2 cache 256K, and memory is 767M - does this mean somebody added extra memory??) , 40GB Ultra DMA h/d, nVidia TNT2 M64 graphics card with 32 Mb SDRAM. It was running extremely slowly, with jerky video under XP. In addition, the owner is inclined to surf questionable sites. I figured that putting Linux on might solve both speed and safety issues. It hasn't. If anything the video is even more jerky, (maybe one frame per second). My question now is whether the real problem is a hardware failure, or whether I need some additional programs or drivers to make Lubuntu play nice with the video card. And if the latter, I will need some guidance on exactly how one acquires and installs such programs. (Just point me to sources of instruction). (I grew up in the DOS era, and the prospect of command line interaction is not overly daunting to me, but I need a little guidance as to the actual commands and how things work in Linux.)

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Complete Newbie and jerky video