Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Trying to update from an old ubuntu installation to 14.04 LTS

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Trying to update from an old ubuntu installation to 14.04 LTS

    Quote Originally Posted by deadflowr View Post
    If the computer has only Ubuntu on it, then just use the replace option.

    If however it has another system on it (Windows, or another linux system) then "something else" would be preferable.
    This is because sometimes the installer misreads the users intent and simply replaces the whole disk when using the replace option.
    Whether this is user error or not is something to be debated.
    Indeed, but I clearly remember it not asking anything regarding partitions after clicking ''replace'', I don't think it is meant to erase partition table with existing OS too. I dunno, I might have been the odd case or it might indeed be me lacking on some coffee. It's still better to be safe than sorry, especially with new users.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mystletainn Kick!
    Beans
    4,216
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Trying to update from an old ubuntu installation to 14.04 LTS

    Quote Originally Posted by LastDino View Post
    Indeed, but I clearly remember it not asking anything regarding partitions after clicking ''replace'', I don't think it is meant to erase partition table with existing OS too. I dunno, I might have been the odd case or it might indeed be me lacking on some coffee. It's still better to be safe than sorry, especially with new users.
    It usually doesn't ask about partitions.
    The benefit of replace is it automatically sets up the partitioning scheme.
    The disadvantage is that it sets it up in a way that might be troublesome later on.
    The installer creates a main partition, usually sda1, then makes an extended partition, usually sda2, then creates a logical partition on sda5. So if later on you need a primary partition (which are only the first four partitions) you need to jump through a few hoops to set it up.
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Trying to update from an old ubuntu installation to 14.04 LTS

    Quote Originally Posted by deadflowr View Post
    It usually doesn't ask about partitions.
    The benefit of replace is it automatically sets up the partitioning scheme.
    The disadvantage is that it sets it up in a way that might be troublesome later on.
    The installer creates a main partition, usually sda1, then makes an extended partition, usually sda2, then creates a logical partition on sda5. So if later on you need a primary partition (which are only the first four partitions) you need to jump through a few hoops to set it up.
    Tell me about it! It only preserved my 4GB SWAP partition from older OS and putted rest of the 1TB HD into ''/''. I think that only spells problems

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Beans
    21
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Trying to update from an old ubuntu installation to 14.04 LTS

    Quote Originally Posted by deadflowr View Post
    It usually doesn't ask about partitions.
    The benefit of replace is it automatically sets up the partitioning scheme.
    The disadvantage is that it sets it up in a way that might be troublesome later on.
    The installer creates a main partition, usually sda1, then makes an extended partition, usually sda2, then creates a logical partition on sda5. So if later on you need a primary partition (which are only the first four partitions) you need to jump through a few hoops to set it up.

    I think I already setup the partition would I need to do it again?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mystletainn Kick!
    Beans
    4,216
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Trying to update from an old ubuntu installation to 14.04 LTS

    Quote Originally Posted by braydon2 View Post
    I think I already setup the partition would I need to do it again?
    If you've set up a partitioning scheme that works for you, then use the "something else" option.
    Simply because you can make sure that it doesn't replace it with a wholly new one.

    To use something else, find the partition you want to use and highlight it, then click "Change /or Edit".
    Select the mount point (usually /, but if using separate partitions for /home, you can as well).

    And then set the filesystem type. (It will say do not use partition, simply click on it and ,strangely, the normal default filesystem type ext4, is way up at the top of the list.)

    If you have swap, you can leave it be.
    The installer will find it, without you needing to do anything about it.
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Beans
    21
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Trying to update from an old ubuntu installation to 14.04 LTS

    Quote Originally Posted by deadflowr View Post
    If you've set up a partitioning scheme that works for you, then use the "something else" option.
    Simply because you can make sure that it doesn't replace it with a wholly new one.

    To use something else, find the partition you want to use and highlight it, then click "Change /or Edit".
    Select the mount point (usually /, but if using separate partitions for /home, you can as well).

    And then set the filesystem type. (It will say do not use partition, simply click on it and ,strangely, the normal default filesystem type ext4, is way up at the top of the list.)

    If you have swap, you can leave it be.
    The installer will find it, without you needing to do anything about it.
    Ok and will this login screen show?
    My Computer does not support some unity stuff.

    Last edited by braydon2; May 7th, 2014 at 09:57 PM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Trying to update from an old ubuntu installation to 14.04 LTS

    It would be easier to answer that if you tell us your computer specs.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Beans
    21
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Post Re: Trying to update from an old ubuntu installation to 14.04 LTS

    Quote Originally Posted by LastDino View Post
    It would be easier to answer that if you tell us your computer specs.
    POS Dell Tower. Had Win XP, Pre-Installed 1 HDD 120GB, Installed 2 500GB HDDs' Unkown But ok Graphics card. Doesn't support unity for ubuntu.

    CD Drive(Supports Big and Small Disks.)(No DVD-ROM.)
    Floppy Disk Area.
    1 Free Space for ADDITIONAL Item(s)
    Graphics Card: PROBABLY Nvidia /OR A VERY OLD AMD.
    NOTICE ME SENPAI

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mystletainn Kick!
    Beans
    4,216
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Trying to update from an old ubuntu installation to 14.04 LTS

    Quote Originally Posted by braydon2 View Post
    POS Dell Tower. Had Win XP, Pre-Installed 1 HDD 120GB, Installed 2 500GB HDDs' Unkown But ok Graphics card. Doesn't support unity for ubuntu.

    CD Drive(Supports Big and Small Disks.)(No DVD-ROM.)
    Floppy Disk Area.
    1 Free Space for ADDITIONAL Item(s)
    Graphics Card: PROBABLY Nvidia /OR A VERY OLD AMD.
    So you seem to be running something.
    Though it seems to be missing some info.
    Preferably CPU and RAM size would help.

    But anyway, is this, as the screenie shows, a VM? (Virtualbox)
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    10,634

    Re: Trying to update from an old ubuntu installation to 14.04 LTS

    Quote Originally Posted by braydon2 View Post
    POS Dell Tower. Had Win XP, Pre-Installed 1 HDD 120GB, Installed 2 500GB HDDs' Unkown But ok Graphics card. Doesn't support unity for ubuntu.

    CD Drive(Supports Big and Small Disks.)(No DVD-ROM.)
    Floppy Disk Area.
    1 Free Space for ADDITIONAL Item(s)
    Graphics Card: PROBABLY Nvidia /OR A VERY OLD AMD.
    I have managed to install Ubuntu on hardware that won't run Unity by choosing Install Ubuntu from the Advanced Welcome page:

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Bo...e_Page_Options

    Then be absolutely certain NOT to select auto-login when you enter your username and password.

    After the installation completes and you boot the new OS the first time, once you get to the login screen you can press Ctrl + Alt + F1 which will open a terminal and type:

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install gnome-panel
    Press enter and follow the prompts. When the package installation is complete you can just:

    Code:
    sudo reboot
    And then when the login screen appears again just click on the GNOME foot next to your username and select GNOME FLashback (Metacity) as the desired session.

    Or you could install Lubuntu or Xubuntu instead - it's all a matter of choice.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •