Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What's so great about this Ubuntu thing..

Beans

What's so great about this Ubuntu thing..

Hi guys

First and foremost excuse my grammar! I have <snip> grammar I know.

Just rambling here. I been a long time linux follower for a while like since 2001-2002 when I graduated high school. Anyway, time flies and now ubuntu is at a "mature" unity release of 14.04 although I read that the true direction of unity hasn't come out yet in the form of Unity 8? (Did they really have to name it that) I tried Mint, fedora, opensuse, etc.

I always dabbled in linux just cause it seemed interesting and I had to use it legit in college when we were programming and compiling code. Since then I always went back to windows.

The hardware incompatibility and random crashes just drove me insane. I learned through the years that it's either the hardware driver issues or one of the programs of linux that causes this crash. I never reported anything so this time around I am determined to give it a real shot. I am going to use this thread of mine and document most things just to keep a record. I was going to ramble more but I'm going to cut to my point.

People always post things such as "OH YEAH I AM A HAPPY CONVERT NOW I LOVE IT LINUX IS SO SOLID VS WINDOWS"
    I seriously want to support and love linux, but I always went back to windows because although it's extremely boring and tamed, it does work. Especially using adobe products/pc games. I am willing to cut out adobe programs and even my pc gaming (bad habit) and give this linux thing a full time gig on my desktop. I am not complaining, but watch issues will arise that will make it unusable.

People always just report the end result instead of describing what they do exactly. I will tell you what I do and it's not very much to be honest. Some things will break...(prove me wrong ubuntu!)