Thread: I really tried but.....goodbye ubuntu

Beans

I really tried but.....goodbye ubuntu

They say its about a different way of doing things here at Ubuntu... and I believed them. But after spending many hours getting the simplest things to work - some of which still do not - I started to compare Ubuntu to owning a car; Most people buy a car because they want it to work - push button - A to B - simple. Some (very few) buy cars because they want to restore them, spend hours looking for spare parts that are rare, awkward to install and difficult to understand BUT THEY LOVE IT because they're really into it.

Now as for myself when it comes to computers and OS's I am like the first group - I want the car to go from A to B - push button; I'm not a techy, I'm not a programmer, I'm not in IT - I'M A CASUAL END USER and it seems to me that UBUNTU is for the second group.
    People who want a functional device do so because they need it for there work lives browsing buying etc. NOT SO THEY CAN spend hours and hours and hours doing this crazy apt get WHAT ???
    Now imagine for a moment I had to do that in order to start my car because it was raining or I wanted to go somewhere different??? I would not be impressed.

The ONLY thing I have managed to get working is chrome - I DO NOT USE FIREFOX - all my stuff is synced across all my devices on chrome . BUT that was not good enough because unlike chrome on windows, I was unable to view Netflix because Ubuntu doesn't have a simple silverlight thingy blah blah (really, i'm not interested - as i said, I'm an end user, A to B ok?) so WHATEVER it would take to get that to work, after all the code you guys have been shoveling......Netflix (and loads of other stuff i would guess) does not work within chrome. SO YES CALM DOWN I GOT THE UBUNTU FIREFOX BASED NETFLIX THINGY BLAH APT GET BLAH BLAH.