Thread: copying Linksys WUSB600N driver

Beans

copying Linksys WUSB600N driver

Hi all,

Windows XP refugee, and a complete Linux newbie here.

I tried LXLE on my old laptop and was pleasantly surprised with how it recognized my Linksys WUSB600N Wireless-N USB Network Adapter right out of the box.

That's something that I could not manage with any other Linux distro that I tried.
    My question is, how can I copy this driver from LXLE to Lubuntu? (because I like Lubuntu's look and feel better, and the manual process of compiling the driver for Ubuntu is just way above my head).

Thanks
    Last edited by LdpmZ3xEfHPMV; April 18th, 2014 at 10:18 AM.

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: copying Linksys WUSB600N driver

http://www.pcworld.com/article/20318...ased-lxle.html

I see it is ubuntu based.
    Did you boot ubuntu and the wireless does not work?

Beans

have you tried using the additional drivers feature?
    The only dumb question is the one not asked.

In service to the Dream

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by sdowney717 View Post
    http://www.pcworld.com/article/20318...ased-lxle.html

I see it is ubuntu based.
    Did you boot ubuntu and the wireless does not work?
    Yes, there is nothing to configure the wireless network with. In LXLE, using the same computer and USB adapter, I could scan for nearby networks and connect without configuring anything.

Quote Originally Posted by stalkingwolf View Post
    have you tried using the additional drivers feature?
    I went to Preferences > Additional Drivers, after a few seconds it said no propitiatory drivers are in use and there was nothing to enable.

I noticed the light on the USB adapter stays on, so it must have be recognized by Lubuntu.

So I did some digging around and added the Network Applet next to the clock. asdasdasd.jpg

from there I could click on the monitors icon and see nearby wireless networks, after clicking my wireless network and entering password, nothing happened.