Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: I want to try Ubuntu on windows but it don't work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Beans
    9

    I want to try Ubuntu on windows but it don't work

    Hello everyone

    I'm a Windows XP user and I want to try Linux Ubuntu on windows but it don't work.

    I tried with :

    - LinuxLive USB Creator
    - UNetbootin
    - Wubi

    I have not tried with VirtualBox because I have only 2gb ram.

    When I start the computer, I chose the usb in the boot menu and it seems to start Ubuntu (I see the Ubuntu purple screen with Ubuntu logo but after a moment it freeze with a distorted picture of the last website a visited on Windows...bizarre. ... and same thing with Wubi.

    Is it possible it doesn't work because I have dual boot (Windows XP on disc C and D) ?

    Thanks in advance!
    Bobby

    P.S. Sorry for my english, I speak french... hope it's not too bad...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I want to try Ubuntu on windows but it don't work

    Wubi is being discontinued. Last supported version is 12.04 as it does not work with the new gpt partitioning that all new UEFI systems have.
    But I would not install wubi inside XP as wubi does rely on the Windows boot loader and the under lying NTFS file system. It is just one very large file inside Windows.

    Often the type of issue you are having is related to video. What video card/chip do you have?
    Also what CPU?

    How to set NOMODESET and other kernel boot options in grub2 - both BIOS liveCD & grub first boot ( also UEFI with grub)
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1613132

    BIOS screens shown
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BootOptions


    To install Ubuntu, boot from the DVD & press any key at accessibility circle and keyboard, press F6 and then select the nomodeset option.

    Your English is fine.
    But if more comfortable there is a French forum.

    French Forums
    www.ubuntu-fr.org
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Beans
    9

    Re: I want to try Ubuntu on windows but it don't work

    Thanks! oldfred ... I had set Nomodeset and it works.

    I have another question ... How to enable the multiverse in Ubuntu 12.04 ?... I saw some video tutorials on the old version but I don't find it in the 12.04.

    Thanks again !

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I want to try Ubuntu on windows but it don't work

    I use synaptic which shows all the repositories and you can add or subtract them. It is old school over Software Center.

    sudo apt-get install synaptic

    I looks like that same screens I see in synptic are in Software & Updates in System Settings.
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Beans
    9

    Re: I want to try Ubuntu on windows but it don't work

    I don't see Software and Updates in System Settings.[IMG]Screenshot from 2014-04-16 21:15:19[/IMG]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Beans
    9

    Re: I want to try Ubuntu on windows but it don't work

    I want to insert an image... add an image from Url ?... I don't understand.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Beans
    23
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: I want to try Ubuntu on windows but it don't work

    I found this: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Re...es/CommandLine. It suggests that Multiverse can be enabled by using the add-apt-repository command. If your release is 'precise', you could write the following (or just the first two) into a terminal:

    Code:
    sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise multiverse multiverse"
    sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise-updates multiverse" 
    sudo add-apt-repository "deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise multiverse"
    sudo add-apt-repository "deb-src http://us.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ precise-updates multiverse"
    Depending on your location, you should replace 'us.' by another country code, referring to a mirror server in your region.

    Also...don't forget to retrieve the updated package lists:
    Code:
     sudo apt-get update
    Hope that helps!
    Last edited by jmbell; April 16th, 2014 at 10:50 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I want to try Ubuntu on windows but it don't work

    jmbell's suggestion will work.

    I think I was in 14.04 and they created a new Software & updates icon.
    Beside synaptic it also is in Ubuntu Software Center, edit, Software Sources.

    You can attach screen shots with Go Advanced Editor and paper clip icon in edit panel.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Beans
    9

    Re: I want to try Ubuntu on windows but it don't work

    The codes seems to work...not sure, when trying to install flash it don't ask to enable multiverse like before but I can't get flash installed to watch videos.


    I don't see edit in Ubuntu Software Center.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago Suburbs
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I want to try Ubuntu on windows but it don't work

    If you move cursor all they way to the top panel, do file, edit, view & help appear?
    I use flashback/fallback which is the old menu system with Ubuntu and it only has menus.

    Just booted into ISO, and it is in the top panel, you have to mouse over top panel to see those menu items.
    Last edited by oldfred; April 17th, 2014 at 12:50 AM.
    For info on UEFI boot install & repair:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to close thread when/if answered completely.







Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •