Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: VPN Suggestions

Beans

VPN Suggestions

Does anyone recommend a safe, trustworthy VPN to use? I'm new to Linux, converting from a WinXP system. I looked/tried at a lot of VPN's, but for some reason I don't feel comfortable with any of them. Though DuckDuckGo is okay, but if I want to DL a movie for my wife and I to watch on occasion, I would like to do that. Or, if I want to do some research on medical stuff, I want to go through a VPN. Any suggestions?
    Last edited by sandyd; April 10th, 2014 at 11:58 PM.

Beans

Re: Vpn?

DuckDuckGo is not really a VPN, as it just "hides" your search queries from Google, Yahoo, etc. But if the government wants to get you, they still can see you visited this page: "https://duckduckgo.com/?q=a+movie+for+my+wife", and the page after that, etc.
    You could take a look at the tor project, that with browser plugins to switch between your main connection and the private connection would allow you to privately search the web for anything with the push of a button.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: VPN Suggestions

Not support - moved to cafe
    Don't waste your energy trying to change opinions ... Do your thing, and don't care if they like it.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

I personally have been using Witopia for some years now and I am happy with them. Easy setup for Windows, OSX and Linux.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Tor Browser Bundle

A VPN won't help much with privacy though it can reduce the likelihood of having your traffic intercepted from wireless, say at a cafe. If you are more interested in privacy look at the above suggestion for Tor. In particular, the Tor Browser Bundle might be of use as it will set up automatically a fairly private system using a specially configured, customized version of Firefox.

Beans

I wonder how many Tor nodes have fixed the OpenSSL bug in their implementations.