Thread: GIMP batch process script run-time error

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Question GIMP batch process script run-time error

I need a bit of help, please, with scripting a batch process for GIMP. I hope that I'm asking on the right forum; if there is a better place to ask, please point me in the right direction. (I'm an absolute beginner when it comes to GIMP scripting.)

I have a bunch of images that I wish to process with script-fu-pencil-drawing. For simplicity's sake, I'll talk about just a single image in this post.

I have used the tutorial for GIMP batch scripting. Taking the tutorial's example verbatim works perfectly. But when I adjust the script for script-fu-pencil-drawing, I get an error.

Note that script-fu-pencil-drawing works when used interactively; it is only when used in this batch script that it fails.

Here is the script as I've adjusted it. The changes are highlighted.
    Code:
    (define (simple-script-fu-pencil-drawing filename
                                             radius
                                             strength
                                             mergelayers)
       (let* ((image (car (gimp-file-load RUN-NONINTERACTIVE filename filename)))
              (drawable (car (gimp-image-get-active-layer image))))
              (script-fu-pencil-drawing RUN-NONINTERACTIVE
                                        image drawable radius strength mergelayers)
         (gimp-file-save RUN-NONINTERACTIVE image drawable filename filename)
         (gimp-image-delete image)))
    Here is the command that I run on the command line, where foo.png is the image to be processed. Again, changes are highlighted.
    Code:
    gimp -i -b '(simple-script-fu-pencil-drawing "foo.png" 8.0 16.0 TRUE)' -b '(gimp-quit 0)'
    Here is the output. The original foo.png is left unchanged.
    Code:
    GIMP-Error: Calling error for procedure 'gimp-layer-copy':