Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Installing Blender software

Beans

Installing Blender software

Ubuntu is driving me nuts. Im a newbie, and just installed v13.10 64 bit, which generally appears to have installed ok and work ok.

I want to install Blender (from Blender.org) v1.7 (the latest release).

I followed all the online help about installing software but I'm having problems:

1. I tried the Ubuntu Software Centre, found Blender, but its an older version (2.66) so can't install that
    2. I went to the Blender.org website and it lets me download the software (.tar.bz2). I extract it to a folder. I read the Readme.html file which says to extract it then run the Blender executable.
    I can see the Blender executable, but when I right click and choose Run, nothing happens. No errors, just does nothing. I'm definitely using the extracted file, not the unextracted tar.bz2 version. If I double-click, nothing happens.
    If I double click the readme.html file (in the same folder) it opens correctly.
    I definitely downloaded the 64 bit Linux version of Blender.

I have no idea what to do next. When does the Ubuntu Software Centre get updated? It would be good to have a button which says "Check for latest version" or something like that.

???

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Re: Installing Blender software

Is it absolutely necessary for you to run the latest Blender build?
    If not, then it is suggested to use the version of Blender that is available in the Ubuntu Software Center, coz that has been tested by Ubuntu and is a stable version.

If you are trying to run the Executable from the tar.gz you have downloaded then right click on the File and see under properties if the permission is set right i.e. it is marked as executable.

See if that helps.
    But using a latest buils for someone new to Linux is not advisable as you can run into errors that you may not be able to fix.