Thread: Installing Ubuntu on a newer laptop with UEFI with secure boot.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Cool Installing Ubuntu on a newer laptop with UEFI with secure boot.

I have a few questions on installing Ubuntu on a newer laptop with UEFI with secure boot.
    The questions aren't on installing as much as getting Windows 8 and Ubuntu to play nice with each other. First, I am not new to Ubuntu. I have been using it since 2005 and have it installed on my server and desktop.
    When I turn off secure boot and install Ubuntu everything goes okay but when I boot it will only go into Ubuntu. For some reason the grub does not setup right. (by the way I was installing in 12.04 at that time). Now for the questions.
    Does anyone know if 14.04 fixed the problem with the grub? And if not will there be a work around to install it on the newer laptops? Also, will 14.04 support secure boot? And one more question. Will 14.04 work on ARM PCs because there is no control over the secure boot?
    I have been holding off on installing ubuntu on my Asus 3632QM i7 2.20Ghz 8GB laptop so I am hoping some of these issues have been address. I would love to try to install it on a Asus Transformer 300T but I have no idea where to start or if it is even possible.
    Right now I run 13.10 in a virtual machine or just boot with a USB drive. Here is a screenshot of it running on this laptop.
    Attachment 251644
    Information on my Main laptop. Information on my small laptop Dell 11 3000
    Using a Asus 3632QM laptop with 8gig RAM, 250 SSD.
    Machine Registered 366271, 366273, 366275.
    Registered Ubuntu user number 18630. Registered Linux user number 458093.

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Installing Ubuntu on a newer laptop with UEFI with secure boot.

Quote Originally Posted by irv View Post
    I have a few questions on installing Ubuntu on a newer laptop with UEFI with secure boot.