Thread: Touchpad not working on Novatech laptop (Ubuntu 12.04 LTS)

Beans

Touchpad not working on Novatech laptop (Ubuntu 12.04 LTS)

I recently got a Novatech nSpire N1581 (http://www.novatech.co.uk/laptop/ran...piren1581.html) with no OS installed. I decided I wanted to try Ubuntu for the first time. I noticed when I was doing the pre-installation setup that I couldn't move the pointer with the touchpad. I could use the keyboard and used a wireless mouse to navigate through the process. I thought that once the OS was installed that the touchpad would start working. However, this didn't happen.

I've been doing some searching about it and I know there have been issues with the touchpad and Ubuntu, but as a complete newbie, I'm wary of trying any suggested solutions without a proper understanding of the problem, specifically to the make of my laptop.

I opened the terminal and inputted xinput list. These are the results:

Code:
    emma@rootNSPIRE:~$ xinput list
    ⎡ Virtual core pointer                        id=2    [master pointer  (3)]
    ⎜   ↳ Virtual core XTEST pointer                  id=4    [slave  pointer  (2)]
    ⎜   ↳ Microsoft Microsoft® 2.4GHz Transceiver v8.0    id=13    [slave  pointer  (2)]
    ⎜   ↳ Microsoft Microsoft® 2.4GHz Transceiver v8.0    id=14    [slave  pointer  (2)]
    ⎣ Virtual core keyboard                       id=3    [master keyboard (2)]
        ↳ Virtual core XTEST keyboard                 id=5    [slave  keyboard (3)]
        ↳ Power Button                                id=6    [slave  keyboard (3)]
        ↳ Video Bus                                   id=7    [slave  keyboard (3)]
        ↳ Video Bus                                   id=8    [slave  keyboard (3)]
        ↳ Sleep Button                                id=9    [slave  keyboard (3)]
        ↳ USB2.0 HD UVC WebCam                        id=10    [slave  keyboard (3)]
        ↳ AT Translated Set 2 keyboard                id=11    [slave  keyboard (3)]