Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: I hope the "community" could help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Beans
    15

    I hope the "community" could help

    I want to set up a cache server in my ubuntu..

    have you tried it?

    can you give some updated links and updated tutorial that really works?

    please.. thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    8,272
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: I hope the "community" could help

    What do you want to cache? If you're looking to cache HTTP, then Squid is what you are looking for.

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Squid

    About the only things you really need to configure for basic use are the cache size/location and the access control lists.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Storybrooke
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: I hope the "community" could help

    Moved to Absolute Beginners Section
    Ubuntu Forums Moderation Staff
    Don't waste your energy trying to change opinions ... Do your thing, and don't care if they like it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Beans
    15

    Re: I hope the "community" could help

    Quote Originally Posted by Lars Noodén View Post
    What do you want to cache? If you're looking to cache HTTP, then Squid is what you are looking for.

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Squid

    About the only things you really need to configure for basic use are the cache size/location and the access control lists.
    how about HTTP and HTTPS?

    Thank you.

    any TIPS and TWEAKS ? to make caching better?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Beans
    15

    any other way???

    Im trying to build a cache server...

    Im following this guide http://ubuntuserverguide.com/2012/12...ver-12-04.html (lusca in ubuntu server 12.04)

    my question is

    is there any other way to do this?

    sudo nano /etc/lusca/squid.conf

    Use the following Lusca File Configuration:

    #=============================================
    # Port and Transparent
    #=============================================
    http_port 3128 transparent
    server_http11 on
    icp_port 0
    #=============================================
    # Lusca Cache Directory
    #=============================================
    cache_dir aufs /cache-1/ 25000 15 256

    I have to configure the squid.conf ..


    can I edit it via "copy-paste" the code in the guide ?


    I have to edit it manually if Ill use nano right? but it has hundreds of lines..It will be too difficult for me...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Porirua, New Zealand
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: I hope the "community" could help

    Threads merged
    Forum DOs and DON'Ts
    Never assume that information you find using a search engine is up-to-date.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Metro-ATL; PM free zone.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: any other way???

    Welcome to the forums. This is a "how to edit" question?

    Copy/paste, scp, sftp, use a real editor that can load a file, run a comparison tool, use a config management tool like ansible, puppet, chef, rexify, salt ... there are hundreds of ways to do this. Heck, use sed, awk, perl, python, ruby .... there are hundreds of ways.

    Or is this a squid question? I'd never heard of lusca before your post.
    Or is this a webcaching server question where memcache, nginx, something like that is needed?

    "cache server" is extremely generic.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    8,272
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    squid

    HTTPS and HTTP can be done by Squid. I would recommend looking at the basic documentation in the link above and at the Squid web site:
    http://www.squid-cache.org/Doc/config/

    The directives that you need to look at first are http_port, http_access, and cache_dir. The default configuration file has lots of options and annotations but find and focus on those first. Make sure your cache diectories are big enough

    Then as you start to use squid, follow the access logs for a week or so and make sure it is caching and not running out of room.

    I would not mess with trying to set up an intercepting proxy (formerly called transparent proxy) but instead set up a normal proxy cache and change the settings in your desktop environment or browser(s).

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •