Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Sad Day...

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

Sad Day...

Sorry to report to all here, that I am leaving Ubuntu Desktop to go back to Windows 7.

It's been a long journey since 6.04, and I am better for it, but I need to move on. To make a very long story short, I have too many Windows-only applications I need to run (MS Office, Adobe Lightroom, join.me, etc.) , and the VM thing is getting old. I've been banging hard on vendors for 5 years to port to Linux, with little success. However, I can deal with that. I also have to say that Mark Shuttleworth hasn't been doing himself any favors lately, with his denigrating remarks about the tea party and various divergent open source projects. But I could live with that too. The real problem for me this past year is growing multitude of (often long-standing) bugs not getting addressed. I'm losing productivity and I can't have that. I have something like 75+ bugs reported, many with high heat that just sit there. IMO Canonical's focus on mobile has detracted from the desktop experience that I came to relish over the buggy and insecure Windows XP.

So yes, now I am paying for Windows again, but for me, it was never about money. I gave/give to numerous open source projects including Ubuntu...the money isn't important. Its my time that is important. And I have to say that Windows 7 is a really good operating system...and so far every tiny, little detail is very polished and Just Works...no muss, no fuss. Added cygwin and all my favorite open-source apps and now I feel like I'm at home. For fun, I tried Windows 8 and couldn't take more than an hour of that nonsense....awful!

I'll still recommend my company run Ubuntu servers...that's been a very positive experience all around. But for me and my friends and family's desktop computers, I'm waving the white flag.

Good luck to the Ubuntu Desktop and all the great folks here. Thanks for the ride. God bless.