Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: elementaryOS won't let me use my external keyboard

Beans

elementaryOS won't let me use my external keyboard

Hi guys,

I'm totally new to Linux and just installed elementary OS on my Laptop, but I have one problem:
    My external usb keyboard doesn't work. I'm typing with my laptop keyboard right now, which works fine. I searched around the internet and I found this lsusb command to check if my keyboard is being recognized by the system and it is! Here's the code (the bold entry is my keyboard):

Code:
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0003 Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
    Bus 002 Device 002: ID 8087:0024 Intel Corp. Integrated Rate Matching Hub
    Bus 003 Device 008: ID 05e3:0605 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB 2.0 Hub [ednet]
    Bus 003 Device 003: ID 04f2:b35f Chicony Electronics Co., Ltd 
    Bus 003 Device 009: ID 1bcf:0005 Sunplus Innovation Technology Inc. 
    Bus 003 Device 012: ID 04d9:a055 Holtek Semiconductor, Inc. 
    Bus 003 Device 011: ID 1058:1021 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. Elements 2TB

After that I ran over this xev command, but the results kind of confused me. There were two entries for every key input i did on my laptop keyboard and none but 2 keys on my external keyboard produced an entry: the menu key and the backspace key! I used this command: xev | sed -n 's/^.*state \([0-9].*\), keycode *\([0-9]\+\) *\(.*\), .*$/keycode \2 = \3, state = \1/p' and here are the results for the backspace key and the menu key:

Code:
    keycode 22 = (keysym 0xff08, BackSpace), state = 0x10keycode 22 = (keysym 0xff08, BackSpace), state = 0x10
    keycode 135 = (keysym 0xff67, Menu), state = 0x10
    keycode 135 = (keysym 0xff67, Menu), state = 0x10