Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: SRWare Iron doesn't load???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    319

    SRWare Iron doesn't load???

    OK, I now have my "new' computer up and running, Precise Pangolin 64-bit, went to get my favorite browser (SRWare Iron), found the .deb package, installed it, ran it... and nothing happens. Am I missing a library? What is wrong?

    Moss
    Every time I hear the word "Progress" my fur bristles!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Netherlands
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: SRWare Iron doesn't load???

    Can you open the browser in a terminal?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    319

    Re: SRWare Iron doesn't load???

    Might not be in the right directory... tried a few things, no luck yet.

    What directory should I be in? I've tried cd / and nothing happens. Probably in /usr?

    LOL dummy here used backslash. Got my directories working... still haven't found the right one.
    Last edited by zaivala; March 22nd, 2014 at 08:19 PM.
    Every time I hear the word "Progress" my fur bristles!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    WI USA
    Beans
    10,483
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: SRWare Iron doesn't load???

    There may be a missing lib and that was affecting Chrome last year . I haven't used iron in a while and I think I had to install a lib the last time I did.
    http://askubuntu.com/questions/36931...to-start-again
    Infinite diversity in infinite combination.

    Ubuntu Documentation Search: Popular Pages
    Ubuntu: Security Basics
    Ubuntu: Manual

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    319

    Re: SRWare Iron doesn't load???

    Quote Originally Posted by Frogs Hair View Post
    There may be a missing lib and that was affecting Chrome last year . I haven't used iron in a while and I think I had to install a lib the last time I did.
    http://askubuntu.com/questions/36931...to-start-again
    Seems to be affecting 13.x releases, I'm still using Precise.

    And I still can't find the directory it installed Iron in... it's not in /opt ...
    Every time I hear the word "Progress" my fur bristles!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    319

    Re: SRWare Iron doesn't load???

    OK, I'm checking usr/bin and usr/lib ... but the ls command doesn't have a pause on it... and only scrolls back so many entries.

    Now using |more and still cannot find google, chrome, srware, or iron in my usr/bin or usr/lib directories... found chrome libraries but no proggies.
    Last edited by zaivala; March 22nd, 2014 at 09:24 PM.
    Every time I hear the word "Progress" my fur bristles!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    WI USA
    Beans
    10,483
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: SRWare Iron doesn't load???

    If you have synaptic installed you can check for libs mentioned in the post, but they may not be required for 12.04 . I installed Chrome on a 12.04 installation recently with no need to add anything. I will download Iron and give it a try on 13.10.


    Edit: Installed Iron successfully with the Gdebi package installer because the software center wasn't cooperating .
    Last edited by Frogs Hair; March 22nd, 2014 at 11:25 PM.
    Infinite diversity in infinite combination.

    Ubuntu Documentation Search: Popular Pages
    Ubuntu: Security Basics
    Ubuntu: Manual

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    319

    Re: SRWare Iron doesn't load???

    OK, looked it up in Synaptic, and it installed to usr/share/iron . I went to that directory, and tried to run iron, to no avail.

    zaivala@zaivala-desktop:/usr/share/iron$ iron
    No command 'iron' found, did you mean:
    Command 'cron' from package 'cron' (main)
    Command 'imon' from package 'isdnutils-base' (universe)
    iron: command not found

    zaivala@zaivala-desktop:/usr/share/iron$ ls |more
    chrome_100_percent.pak
    chrome.pak
    chrome_remote_desktop.pak
    chrome_sandbox
    chrome-wrapper
    content_resources.pak
    extensions
    iron
    libavcodec.so.52
    libavformat.so.52
    libavutil.so.50
    libffmpegsumo.so
    locales
    product_logo_48.png
    resources
    resources.pak
    zaivala@zaivala-desktop:/usr/share/iron$

    When I try to run iron, it says there is no such command. I checked for a subdirectory iron, no such directory.

    I assume I'm missing a library... but I know what a faulty assumption is.
    Last edited by zaivala; March 22nd, 2014 at 11:44 PM.
    Every time I hear the word "Progress" my fur bristles!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    WI USA
    Beans
    10,483
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: SRWare Iron doesn't load???

    It is named iron32 or iron64 in synaptic depending what version you installed. Normally that is the command used to launch from the terminal. The lib that was causing the Chrome problem is available at the linked page in section 22 .

    http://askubuntu.com/questions/28607...n-ubuntu-13-04
    Last edited by Frogs Hair; March 23rd, 2014 at 12:38 AM.
    Infinite diversity in infinite combination.

    Ubuntu Documentation Search: Popular Pages
    Ubuntu: Security Basics
    Ubuntu: Manual

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Beans
    319

    Re: SRWare Iron doesn't load???

    Tried that. No such animal. It's just named 'iron' in the directory... should I be launching it from a different directory?
    Every time I hear the word "Progress" my fur bristles!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •