Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: online or WiFi

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Beans
    6

    online or WiFi

    Sir
    When i choose Ubuntu to boot up on my laptop with visa installed I cannot find any shortcut where to go online on the ubuntu desktop
    Re Mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Porirua, New Zealand
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: online or WiFi

    Which version of Ubuntu are you using?
    Forum DOs and DON'Ts
    Never assume that information you find using a search engine is up-to-date.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: online or WiFi

    Hmm... You don't see the Firefox icon off to the left?

    Try and open a terminal, press "ctrl+alt+t" at the same time, and type:
    Code:
    firefox
    Chris
    "Ignorance is short-lived, and knowledge is forever."


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Western Australia
    Beans
    11,472
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: online or WiFi

    On the top of the screen, toward the right-hand side, there are some icons you can click that cause menus to appear. One of those is the Network Manager, and it detects wifi networks and displays their names. You can click on the wifi network you want to connect to, and then use Firefox to surf the web.
    I try to treat the cause, not the symptom. I avoid the terminal in instructions, unless it's easier or necessary. My instructions will work within the Ubuntu system, instead of breaking or subverting it. Those are the three guarantees to the helpee.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Beans
    6

    Re: online or WiFi

    Sir
    Do I have to use Firefox because nothing else works maybe Ubuntu trying to download updates but cannot connect to complete it

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Beans
    6

    Re: online or WiFi

    1204 lts

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Beans
    6

    Re: online or WiFi

    Yes the icon is there but when opened an error message comes up cannot connect

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •