Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: K3DSurf vs MathMod

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    14

    K3DSurf vs MathMod

    Hi all,
    Just to mention that right now I'm working a a new application, MathMod, as a remplacement of K3DSurf.
    You can download the latest source code of MathMod v1.0 from sourceforge: http://sourceforge.net/p/mathmod/bra...HEAD/tree/1.0/
    The new sourceforge project is : http://sourceforge.net/projects/mathmod/
    ( We hope that one day, MathMod will make its way to the Ubuntu Repos, as K3dSurf once did )
    Bugs reports and comments are welcome
    Have a fun
    Abderrahman
    Last edited by nextstep; March 7th, 2014 at 08:59 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    1,991

    Re: K3DSurf vs MathMod

    Well downloaded the src zip file, what am I supposed to do with it? There is no instruction or documentation and the readme file is empty.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    14

    Re: K3DSurf vs MathMod

    There is one at https://sourceforge.net/projects/mat...s/MathMod-1.0/ :
    *****************************************
    Binary information:
    A 32Bit Windows version of MathMod-1.0-Alpha is provided in the "bin" folder
    Source code compilation:
    The source code is available in the "src" folder Use QtCreator from Qt5.x to compile this project
    MathMod roadmap:
    MathMod V 1.0 Alpha (done)
    MathMod V 1.0 Beta
    MathMod V 1.0 release candidate
    MathMod V 1.0 stable (April 2014)
    *******************************************
    Also, the stable release will include an install/uninstall process and a documentation for beginners in the mathematical modelling.


    On youtube:

    http://youtu.be/7l86iN7eP_k


    Last edited by nextstep; March 9th, 2014 at 04:00 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    1,991

    Re: K3DSurf vs MathMod

    Well those are not really instructions. How to use qtcreator to compile? I don't think the version in the 13.10 repo is 5.x btw (I could be wrong on that) I will just wait for the stable release.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    14

    Re: K3DSurf vs MathMod

    Hi,
    MathMod-1.0-Beta is available for download from : https://sourceforge.net/projects/mat...hMod-1.0/Beta/
    Three precompiled packages are available :
    MathMod 64/32 Bit for Windows
    MathMod for Linux-Ubuntu 64Bit (you should however install Qt5)
    Cheers

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Beans
    31
    Distro
    Lubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: K3DSurf vs MathMod

    Good luck on le software

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    14

    Re: K3DSurf vs MathMod

    Thank you Volton

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    8

    Re: K3DSurf vs MathMod

    Thanks for reviving this project. Among the currently available downloads, there is one labelled Linux64. The .zip file contains two .js files and one binary file with no file extension. Is it just a binary blob meant to be executed? I'm not entirely clear on the instructions for compiling, so I might also wait for the RC. Will there be a .deb file for installation on Ubuntu?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    14

    Re: K3DSurf vs MathMod

    MathMod was compiled under Ubuntu 64Bit with Qt5.2.
    The binary needs some libs from qt5 to be installed before running.
    If you dont know exactly what to do, the easiest way is to install a Qt5 program that will install the needed library in the same process.
    You can install, for example "Qt Creator" (look for it and install it with the Ubuntu Software Centre).Runing the binary after that should be OK
    The ziped package should work for all Linux distro (Ubuntu, Debbian, Suze, Fedora, Schlakware...) and, for now, I can't support all there packaging file formats.
    Cheers

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Beans
    8

    Re: K3DSurf vs MathMod

    OK, thanks. And if I want to compile from source, you mention to use the Qt5 creator program. If I want to build a deb package I would normally run something like dpkg-buildpackage from the source directory. Is that an option, or is it necessary to use the Qt5 creator to go straight to the binary?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •