Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Can not connect Ubuntu GNOME 13.10 to my HDMI Sony Bravia TV

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    apt-get
    Beans
    4,245
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome Development Release

    Question Can not connect Ubuntu GNOME 13.10 to my HDMI Sony Bravia TV

    Hi,

    Whenever I connect my laptop (with HDMI port) to my 32" LCD Sony Bravia, using:

    Lubuntu
    and
    Xubuntu

    It works just fine, sometimes with very few change in settings and everything is okay.

    I have converted the laptop number 34 in my neighbourhood to Linux (Ubuntu GNOME 13.10). The user reported to me that she can't connect her laptop to her TV.

    I'm now typing this from my laptop that has HDMI port, sitting in front of my 32" LCD Sony and indeed, I am having the very same issue she described.

    This is all what I get:

    Screenshot from 2014-03-04 12:33:22.png


    First, my LCD is 32" not 72"

    Second, I see odd stuff like:

    A- On the LCD, after I connect the HDMI cable, I see ONLY the wallpaper of my Ubuntu GNOME 13.10 desktop. It does not matter what I try to open, there will be nothing on the LCD.

    B- The mouse on my laptop is not synch with the LCD. Meaning, on my laptop, when I point the mouse somewhere, on the LCD, it goes to somewhere else and not at the same place where I'm pointing on my laptop. It seems that it is detecting two monitors at the same time and point the mouse at different places. That never happened with me with Lubuntu and Xubuntu before IIRC.


    I managed to get a sound on the 32" LCD from the settings. However, I can't for example see the Activity Bar nor the panel at the top, nothing at all.

    I don't know how to explain that better but it seems the system is detecting two different output device (monitor) and it is dealing with these different monitors (output devices) in two different way.
    What it is showing on the built-in one, is different than what it is showing on the external one (32" LCD).

    Thoughts?

    I'm not using any PPA, this is a standard Ubuntu GNOME 13.10 installation.

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    apt-get
    Beans
    4,245
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome Development Release

    Re: Can not connect Ubuntu GNOME 13.10 to my HDMI Sony Bravia TV

    Screenshot from 2014-03-04 12:52:22.png

    Ok, that was super quick

    I managed to see everything now on the LCD by doing the above (disable the built-in display).

    Now, it seems I can't reverse that. When I do, I see nothing on my laptop display except the wallpaper I use and that is all.

    So, I need now to figure out how to reverse which means, when I disconnect the HDMI cable, the built-in display should show the desktop and give the control back to the built-in one.

    Needless to say, that process was a lot easier with Lubuntu and Xubuntu.
    There must be an easier way to do all that without changing the settings, etc.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Beans
    27
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Can not connect Ubuntu GNOME 13.10 to my HDMI Sony Bravia TV

    @OP:

    I had the same issue with my sony bravia, I guess it was not sync, I mean, I faced the same issues, when i tried to connect the laptop to TV, while my lapop was already powered-on/user is logged in.
    I did a restart, and everything was fine.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    apt-get
    Beans
    4,245
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome Development Release

    Re: Can not connect Ubuntu GNOME 13.10 to my HDMI Sony Bravia TV

    Ok, I guess I figured out what is going on.

    Case A:
    To use the built-in display, I need to go to Display settings and disable the external one by selecting it and choose "Off". Then Apply.

    Case B:
    To use the external display, I need to go to Display settings and disable the internal (built-in) display by selecting it and choose "Off". Then Apply.

    Sadly, there is no Case C where I can use BOTH at the same time.

    Any idea how can I use both at the same time? without the need to keep doing the switch thing?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Toronto ON Canada
    Beans
    1,077
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Can not connect Ubuntu GNOME 13.10 to my HDMI Sony Bravia TV

    I use a Sony Bravia too - but mine is 40" (and it reports as 72" as well!). However - you do not specify the laptop you are using, or its specs - in particular resolution. It is possible that it cannot run separate resolutions at the same time with the same hardware

    It occurs to me that would explain the output not reaching out to the edges of the TV when both are active?

    Cure... is it possible for your laptop to accept a lower res when you want both to be powered?

    Just a point to ponder...
    |Intel E6550 2.33 | Intel mb/gfx/snd | 4 Gb RAM | Seagate 500Gb | Magnasonic 19" | Ubuntu 12.04 | AMD A10 5800K 3.8GHz / ATI gfx| Asus A88X-Pro mb/snd | 8 Gb RAM | Corsair Force 128 GB SSD | Seagate 3+2TB | USB 2TB | Sony 40" | Ubuntu 12.04 / 14.04 |

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    apt-get
    Beans
    4,245
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome Development Release

    Re: Can not connect Ubuntu GNOME 13.10 to my HDMI Sony Bravia TV

    Hi and thanks for posting

    Quote Originally Posted by freebird54 View Post
    I use a Sony Bravia too - but mine is 40" (and it reports as 72" as well!). However - you do not specify the laptop you are using, or its specs - in particular resolution. It is possible that it cannot run separate resolutions at the same time with the same hardware
    My Laptop is:
    Lenovo G570 - Intel Core i5 2nd generation - 8GB RAM. This is the full details:


    Code:
    description: Notebook
        product: 20079 (HuronRiver_CRB)
        vendor: LENOVO
        version: Lenovo G570
        width: 64 bits
        capabilities: smbios-2.7 dmi-2.7 vsyscall32
        configuration: boot=normal chassis=notebook family=IDEAPAD sku=HuronRiver_CRB uuid=6FDFC1DF-C571-11E0-983A-B870F43693F8
      *-core
           description: Motherboard
           product: Base Board Product Name
           vendor: LENOVO
           physical id: 0
           version: Base Board Version
           serial: CB10004412
           slot: Base Board Chassis Location
         *-firmware
              description: BIOS
              vendor: LENOVO
              physical id: 0
              version: 40CN24WW(V2.10)
              date: 06/28/2011
              size: 1MiB
              capacity: 2496KiB
              capabilities: pci upgrade shadowing cdboot bootselect edd int13floppynec int13floppytoshiba int13floppy360 int13floppy1200 int13floppy720 int13floppy2880 int9keyboard int10video acpi usb biosbootspecification uefi
         *-memory
              description: System Memory
              physical id: 19
              slot: System board or motherboard
              size: 8GiB
            *-bank:0
                 description: SODIMM DDR3 Synchronous 1333 MHz (0.8 ns)
                 product: M471B5273DH0-CH9
                 vendor: Samsung
                 physical id: 0
                 serial: 62650E02
                 slot: ChannelA-DIMM0
                 size: 4GiB
                 width: 64 bits
                 clock: 1333MHz (0.8ns)
            *-bank:1
                 description: DIMM [empty]
                 physical id: 1
                 slot: ChannelA-DIMM1
            *-bank:2
                 description: SODIMM DDR3 Synchronous 1333 MHz (0.8 ns)
                 product: M471B5273CH0-CH9
                 vendor: Samsung
                 physical id: 2
                 serial: 844016BE
                 slot: ChannelB-DIMM0
                 size: 4GiB
                 width: 64 bits
                 clock: 1333MHz (0.8ns)
            *-bank:3
                 description: DIMM [empty]
                 physical id: 3
                 slot: ChannelB-DIMM1
         *-cpu
              description: CPU
              product: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz
              vendor: Intel Corp.
              physical id: 2a
              bus info: cpu@0
              version: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz
              slot: CPU1
              size: 800MHz
              capacity: 4GHz
              width: 64 bits
              clock: 1333MHz
              capabilities: x86-64 fpu fpu_exception wp vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf eagerfpu pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx lahf_lm ida arat epb xsaveopt pln pts dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid cpufreq
              configuration: cores=2 enabledcores=2 threads=4
            *-cache:0
                 description: L1 cache
                 physical id: 2c
                 slot: L1 Cache
                 size: 32KiB
                 capacity: 32KiB
                 capabilities: synchronous internal write-through instruction
            *-cache:1
                 description: L2 cache
                 physical id: 2d
                 slot: L2 Cache
                 size: 256KiB
                 capacity: 256KiB
                 capabilities: synchronous internal write-through unified
            *-cache:2
                 description: L3 cache
                 physical id: 2e
                 slot: L3 Cache
                 size: 3MiB
                 capacity: 3MiB
                 capabilities: synchronous internal write-through unified
         *-cache
              description: L1 cache
              physical id: 2b
              slot: L1 Cache
              size: 32KiB
              capacity: 32KiB
              capabilities: synchronous internal write-through data
         *-pci
              description: Host bridge
              product: 2nd Generation Core Processor Family DRAM Controller
              vendor: Intel Corporation
              physical id: 100
              bus info: pci@0000:00:00.0
              version: 09
              width: 32 bits
              clock: 33MHz
            *-display
                 description: VGA compatible controller
                 product: 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller
                 vendor: Intel Corporation
                 physical id: 2
                 bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
                 version: 09
                 width: 64 bits
                 clock: 33MHz
                 capabilities: msi pm vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
                 configuration: driver=i915 latency=0
                 resources: irq:43 memory:d0000000-d03fffff memory:c0000000-cfffffff ioport:3000(size=64)
            *-communication
                 description: Communication controller
                 product: 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1
                 vendor: Intel Corporation
                 physical id: 16
                 bus info: pci@0000:00:16.0
                 version: 04
                 width: 64 bits
                 clock: 33MHz
                 capabilities: pm msi bus_master cap_list
                 configuration: driver=mei_me latency=0
                 resources: irq:41 memory:d0604000-d060400f
            
            *-multimedia
                 description: Audio device
                 product: 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller
                 vendor: Intel Corporation
                 physical id: 1b
                 bus info: pci@0000:00:1b.0
                 version: 05
                 width: 64 bits
                 clock: 33MHz
                 capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list
                 configuration: driver=snd_hda_intel latency=0
                 resources: irq:42 memory:d0600000-d0603fff
            *-pci:0
                 description: PCI bridge
                 product: 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1
                 vendor: Intel Corporation
                 physical id: 1c
                 bus info: pci@0000:00:1c.0
                 version: b5
                 width: 32 bits
                 clock: 33MHz
                 capabilities: pci pciexpress msi pm normal_decode bus_master cap_list
                 configuration: driver=pcieport
                 resources: irq:17 ioport:2000(size=4096) memory:d0500000-d05fffff
               
            *-pci:1
                 description: PCI bridge
                 product: 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 2
                 vendor: Intel Corporation
                 physical id: 1c.1
                 bus info: pci@0000:00:1c.1
                 version: b5
                 width: 32 bits
                 clock: 33MHz
                 capabilities: pci pciexpress msi pm normal_decode bus_master cap_list
                 configuration: driver=pcieport
                 resources: irq:16 memory:d0400000-d04fffff
               
            *-isa
                 description: ISA bridge
                 product: HM65 Express Chipset Family LPC Controller
                 vendor: Intel Corporation
                 physical id: 1f
                 bus info: pci@0000:00:1f.0
                 version: 05
                 width: 32 bits
                 clock: 33MHz
                 capabilities: isa bus_master cap_list
                 configuration: driver=lpc_ich latency=0
                 resources: irq:0
    I used to connect my laptop to my 32" LCD Sony Bravia but not any more. I did this today to help my neighbour and to try to understand what is going on with her as I thought when I converted her to Ubuntu GNOME, I thought it would work out-of-the-box, just like Lubuntu and/or Xubuntu last time I checked both.

    So, me and my neighbour are having the same issue with two different hardware. It seems it is a system issue not a hardware one. I could be wrong though.


    It occurs to me that would explain the output not reaching out to the edges of the TV when both are active?
    I don't think that is the main issue as far as I can tell. As per the test I did, it seems the system (Ubuntu GNOME) is not or can't (?) synch two dispalys at the same time. Meaning, only one display should be 'active' at a time. Which, if you ask me, not really helpful

    Cure... is it possible for your laptop to accept a lower res when you want both to be powered?
    If you take another look at the screenshots I added on my previous posts here, you may notice that the resoultion on both displays was the same. I did change it but that didn't fix anything. The only way I figured out so far to see something on the LCD is to diable the built-in display (the laptop's screen) and keep the external display (32" LCD Sony) On.

    If I want to go back and use the internal (built-in) display, I have to disable the external one.

    For me, I don't mind that if and only if I'm using the LCD but for newcomers to Linux, that definitely will not impress them. 34 laptops in my area have been converted and all happy users. This is one of the very very few problems that my neighbour has reported. You see, I want to impress them as much as I can and make them feel the difference between Microsoft Windows (which in most if not all the time, works out-of-the-box when using HDMI) and Linux.


    Just a point to ponder...
    Appreciate your help
    I think I will also contact Tim, our head of developers (Ubuntu GNOME) and see if he has an idea about this and will update this thread.

    Thank you!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Toronto ON Canada
    Beans
    1,077
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Can not connect Ubuntu GNOME 13.10 to my HDMI Sony Bravia TV

    Drat - I knew it couldn't be that simple! (it was on my older lappy here - but not apparently relevant on newer stuff.

    Only other thoughts..
    1. do the screens sync at the same frequency? 60MHz is common, but not universal...
    2. is there a VGA output that can be used instead?

    Well - that's about it for my alleged help. Good luck - and keep up the good work! (I have only done 4 conversions, all on desktops. Nice not to have to do so many 'service calls' than when they were on MS!)
    |Intel E6550 2.33 | Intel mb/gfx/snd | 4 Gb RAM | Seagate 500Gb | Magnasonic 19" | Ubuntu 12.04 | AMD A10 5800K 3.8GHz / ATI gfx| Asus A88X-Pro mb/snd | 8 Gb RAM | Corsair Force 128 GB SSD | Seagate 3+2TB | USB 2TB | Sony 40" | Ubuntu 12.04 / 14.04 |

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    apt-get
    Beans
    4,245
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome Development Release

    Re: Can not connect Ubuntu GNOME 13.10 to my HDMI Sony Bravia TV

    Hi,

    Quote Originally Posted by freebird54 View Post
    Drat - I knew it couldn't be that simple! (it was on my older lappy here - but not apparently relevant on newer stuff.
    We are all learning here so don't worry about it

    Only other thoughts..
    1. do the screens sync at the same frequency? 60MHz is common, but not universal...
    I don't know, there was nothing on the settings window that refers to any frequency. I don't think this might prevent the desktop to show up if there is something to do with the frequency, then there would be nothing on the screen. Since there is a picture but just a wallpaper without icons, etc ... it means there is some kind of missing settings. That will be fixed (as explained) after disabling one of the displays.

    2. is there a VGA output that can be used instead?
    For me, I have. For my neighbour who I'm trying to help here, I don't think she has that cable. With VGA, you will get a picture without sound so, either to use external speakers or enjoy the low quality of the laptop's speakers and that is not going to help, I'm afraid.

    She wants to use the HDMI, not the VGA

    Well - that's about it for my alleged help. Good luck - and keep up the good work! (I have only done 4 conversions, all on desktops. Nice not to have to do so many 'service calls' than when they were on MS!)
    Appreciate your help and don't worry about it

    I have sent this thread to my team (Ubuntu GNOME), hope someone has another thought

    Will sure keep converting people, that will never stop
    34 laptops so far, thousands are left and yes, I will, watch me

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Beans
    1

    Re: Can not connect Ubuntu GNOME 13.10 to my HDMI Sony Bravia TV

    I make the shortcut key CTRL+ALT+E to display on an external display

    xrandr --output LVDS1 --off --output VGA1 --auto

    I make the shortcut key CTRL+ALT+I to display on an the internal display

    xrandr --output LVDS1 --auto --output VGA1 --off

    xrandr outputs available displays

    $ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1366 x 768, maximum 4096 x 4096
    LVDS1 connected 1366x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 223mm x 125mm
    1366x768 60.0*+
    1360x768 59.8 60.0
    1024x768 60.0
    800x600 60.3 56.2
    640x480 59.9
    VGA1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    apt-get
    Beans
    4,245
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome Development Release

    Re: Can not connect Ubuntu GNOME 13.10 to my HDMI Sony Bravia TV

    Hi,

    My neighbour sent me a message saying she has no sound

    no sound.jpg

    This is yet another problem she reported.
    I think she said that she got two TVs/LCDs and on one of these, she got a picture but couldn't on the 2nd one.
    On both displays, she got no sounds.

    Her laptop is HP g6

    If I couldn't help her online, maybe I need to visit her.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •