Thread: QtiPlot or other plotting software: how to assign symbol/marker style to a number?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

QtiPlot or other plotting software: how to assign symbol/marker style to a number?

I am new to linux and the only barrier for using it in my everyday work is a scientific plotting software for publication quality plots. I am looking for something similar to Sigmaplot or Grapher, but for free.

I just tried out QtiPlot. A features I could not find was to assign a symbol/marker style to a number.

Example I have a spreadsheet with three columns x y z. x and y would be my data for a 2-D scatter plot and z would contain a number (e.g., 1, 2 and 3) that could assign to each of my x-y pairs a specific marker type or marker color (e.g. 1= filled circle, 2= star and 3= square).

Does anyone use scientific software for plotting lots of data and managed to do this type of plot in QtiPlot?

Any help appreciated, also suggestions of other scientific plotting software I may have missed...
    Last edited by zircon_34; February 27th, 2014 at 02:49 AM.

Beans

Re: QtiPlot or other plotting software: how to assign symbol/marker style to a number

Matplotlib and small programs written in python may give you what you need

Here is a search I did on what you requested ......

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=as...otlib&tbm=isch

I have only done small programs and whether they meet your specifications for high quality - that is something only you
    will be able to tell by knowing what it is that you require and then by seeing what you can obtain for free.

Beans

Re: QtiPlot or other plotting software: how to assign symbol/marker style to a number

You should really check out Veusz.
    http://home.gna.org/veusz/
    It is in the repos with updates available via a PPA which can be found on the Veusz website.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Alright, thanks for the links! Its in my list, I will try those out.

Beans
    Distro