Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 14.04 and nvidia-prime system

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    14.04 and nvidia-prime system

    Installed nvidia prime 5.7 in 14.04 and everything is working fine, however whenever I run "nvidia-settings" the gui doesn't show all the options, (opengl info, powermizer, temps) that nvidia-settings usually shows. Is there a reason for this? I tried prime on a 12.04.3 system and nvidia-settings had everything it should.

    Screenshot - 02232014 - 01:23:05 PM.png

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3,225

    Re: 14.04 and nvidia-prime system

    What happens if you do .......

    optirun nvidia-settings

    I made this video a few days back showing it working - http://youtu.be/24dV49hS8NM

    Could be possible it only applies to Bumblebee installs ..... but it showed the settings for me although in
    what appears to be a virtual window.

    Someone else that deals with this in more depth could maybe explain things for us.

    https://www.google.co.uk/search?clie...tf-8&oe=utf-8&
    Last edited by 23dornot23d; February 23rd, 2014 at 09:13 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: 14.04 and nvidia-prime system

    I uninstalled bumblebee when I installed nvidia-prime.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3,225

    Re: 14.04 and nvidia-prime system

    I was having problems with nvidia-prime ... it kept choosing the wrong resolutions for me.

    Maybe it works on later setups ......... mine is one of the earlier optimus setups with a (gt540m and intel card)

    If you do get it working - and the options stick let us know how you managed it .......

    does glxgears give an improvement in performance once you select the performance mode in nvidia-settings

    I can tell on render times in Blender - but not by much on small renders - will see if you manage to get a good

    answer on how nvidia-prime is being implimented and how we can prove that it is in fact working ok.

    Code:
    keith@keith-laptop:~$ optirun blender
    Color management: using fallback mode for management
    connect failed: No such file or directory
    Read new prefs: /home/keith/.config/blender/2.69/config/userpref.blend
    Saved: /tmp/0001.png Time: 00:00.53 (Saving: 00:00.17)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0002.png Time: 00:00.75 (Saving: 00:00.16)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0003.png Time: 00:00.77 (Saving: 00:00.17)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0004.png Time: 00:00.81 (Saving: 00:00.18)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0005.png Time: 00:00.82 (Saving: 00:00.19)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0006.png Time: 00:00.83 (Saving: 00:00.19)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0007.png Time: 00:00.88 (Saving: 00:00.20)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0008.png Time: 00:00.92 (Saving: 00:00.20)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0009.png Time: 00:00.95 (Saving: 00:00.21)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0010.png Time: 00:00.94 (Saving: 00:00.21)
    
    
    Blender quit
    keith@keith-laptop:~$ blender
    Color management: using fallback mode for management
    connect failed: No such file or directory
    Read new prefs: /home/keith/.config/blender/2.69/config/userpref.blend
    Saved: /tmp/0001.png Time: 00:00.95 (Saving: 00:00.18)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0002.png Time: 00:00.86 (Saving: 00:00.16)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0003.png Time: 00:00.86 (Saving: 00:00.18)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0004.png Time: 00:00.87 (Saving: 00:00.18)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0005.png Time: 00:00.93 (Saving: 00:00.20)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0006.png Time: 00:00.93 (Saving: 00:00.19)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0007.png Time: 00:00.99 (Saving: 00:00.21)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0008.png Time: 00:00.99 (Saving: 00:00.22)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0009.png Time: 00:01.04 (Saving: 00:00.22)
    
    Saved: /tmp/0010.png Time: 00:01.02 (Saving: 00:00.20)
    
    
    Blender quit
    178k
    Last edited by 23dornot23d; February 23rd, 2014 at 09:33 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Beans
    12
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: 14.04 and nvidia-prime system

    There is no such settings for me. check the first post, the image attatched. My desktop loads using the nvida card, but i can't start steam. So I imagine it's an issue with nvidia-prime in general.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    3,225

    Re: 14.04 and nvidia-prime system

    Here is a link to how someone checked to get steam working on optimus - it might help ......
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2188201

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •